The Seeking Pastor

Seeking to live, laugh, and love like Jesus

Lukewarm Christians

I have heard the term “lukewarm Christian” most of my life.  This describes a person who claims to be a Christian, but does not give himself fully to Jesus.  Jesus is a part of his life, but only a part.  He gives a little of himself to the cause of Christ, but not his full self.  He wants just enough of Jesus to get by without having to really follow the teachings of the Messiah.

Maybe you would consider yourself a “lukewarm Christian.”  If so, be careful.

Because, biblically, there is no such thing.

The basis for the term comes from Revelation chapter 3–take a look.

14And unto the angel of the church of the Laodiceans write; These things saith the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of the creation of God;

 15I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot.

 16So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.

 17Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked:”

For some reason, people have gotten the notion that these are “lukewarm Christians”–that they are saved.  Take a closer look.  Jesus says that because they are lukewarm that He will spue (or vomit) them out of his mouth.

Jesus also says that they do not know that they are “wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked.”

Does that sound like someone who is saved to you?

One of the greatest struggles that the church faces is the fact that so many church members are lukewarm/lost and they don’t even know it.

I am not passing judgment on anyone here.  We all have feet of clay and have all failed in various ways.  This is just a reminder that following Jesus is either all or nothing.  We must choose to deny ourselves and follow Christ.

Anything else is not good enough.

I still believe in grace, of course.  But to obtain grace  we are called to give ourselves up completely to Jesus. 

There is really no better life than this.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Lukewarm Christians

  1. Stephen G. on said:

    That is true, I went to a church camp last summer that changed my life. But when I tell others they say they are saved, I’m not sure how to tell them that they will not enter the pearly gates of Heaven, unless they convert to the lifestyle of a radical Christian…

  2. My husband and I are currently in a messy conflict with my in laws. It is very unfortunate but I believe God is working in it. Both of his parents have stated that they are “Christians” however during our counseling session have stated that they do not believe people can change. Their lifestyles would also suggest that they have not given their whole selves to Jesus. I would call them “lukewarm” Christians. My dilemma is how to gracefully, respectfully bring light to their ways without offending and making matters worse. Any advice…

    • The main advice I have is to pray. For discernment, guidance, strength, open doors, reconciliation, God’s presence, and so much more. Praying diligently with righteousness oftentimes leads to things happening beyond our comprehension.

      • Pray for the eyes of their heart to be opened that they may see the truth. Turth is the key word here. Truth of who they are and what they believe. Ye shall know the turth and the truth shall set you free.

  3. rosie on said:

    Thank u for this, I agree all the way. I learned and was taught this from God the hard way as I once thought being a Christian is believe in Jesus, go to church one in a while to get my face in, never read the Bible and know Gods WHOLE word, be better than people in jail etc etc. when I truly repented and got saved, God showed me otherwise…! I just read a falsr website before urs and the author was talkin abouy same subject but totally twisted it…! Turned it to people thinking just as lons as they believe in their heart they are not lukewarm, no dramtic change in their life towards God, cause if there is its legalistic. People who are radical for God are the lukewarms, he just twist it all around and people fell for it..! They were commenting thank u, I never heard it this way before, now I knoe I am not lukewarm cause I do believe in Jesus even though I dont feel on fire for Him etc etc…!

  4. rosie on said:

    Sorry…..typo errors cause im typing frm my phone….I know how to spell its just hard on these small keys. Anyways, his article was sooooo fake but he did it in such a SMART way that lukewarm unsaved Not Born again people fell sooo hard for it…..

  5. I’m still confused. Luke warm is someone who thinks they are saved but aren’t? And cold is someone who knows they are not saved (and don’t think they need to be)?

    When I read this passage, I can’t help of think of the Law vrs. Grace. Works (which is the main topic of the passage) is something they do under the law. Rest is what we do under grace.

    It seems to me that Jesus would rather we would be under the law (cold) or under grace (hot), but not to mix the two–which so much of the church is doing today. I find it hard to believe that Jesus would rather have someone not to be a christian at all (cold) than to have someone be a Christian but not acting as if they are (luke warm).

    Just a thought

  6. He would rather they actually ADMIT they’re unsaved, than live as a professing Christian, while they’re not. Living that hypocritical life is damaging to the whole body. “Be who you are”.

  7. You are right . The. Passage is talking about law and grace being lukewarm is mixing the two.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers