No Suit, No Tie, No Problem

Pastors are supposed to wear a suit and a tie, right?  Or at least a tie and a sportcoat, right?  Not this one; not anymore at least. 

Sometime in late winter or early spring, I quit wearing the normal preacher garb.  Most of the time, at least.  Now on Sundays and Wednesdays I can be found wearing casual dress pants and either a polo shirt or a button up.

I’m not real sure when suits became the norm for pastors.  It probably either started or continued because some people consider wearing nice close as “giving our best” to God.  I personally think that God is more concerned with us giving Him our best praise and best love than He is in what I wear.

I may go back to the suit and tie one day.  Until then, I’ll keep wearing what I wear and loving the God of grace.

One thought on “No Suit, No Tie, No Problem

  1. I wore a suit this past Sunday for the first time in a while. I will probably wear them more often–it was nice. I fella can change his mind–right?

Leave a Reply

