Strange Inspiration

A few years ago, when I was at my lowest point emotionally, inspiration to perservere came from a very strange source.  I was pastoring a church in East Knoxville at the time and the prospect of being in a depression was not a thrilling one.  After all, I talked a lot about the “Joy of the Lord.”  But for some reason, I wasn’t feeling it.

For the majority of my life, things came easy.  I did well in school and I never got into much trouble.  Athletically I wasn’t the best, but I still managed to start every game for my high school basketball team as a Senior.  Even in college, I didn’t have many problems.

 Then I became a pastor, graduated from college, started a secular job, bought a house, and got married all within the span of 3 months.  Then things started going slowly down hill as things started becoming more difficult.  I wasn’t really prepared to take on the task of paying bills and managing a household.  I saw myself as a failure. 

I kept reading my Bible and praying during this time, but there seemed to be a wall between me and God.   I thought there may be some sort of sin in my life that I had not confessed, so I did a lot of sould-searching.  Still, I felt so despondent. 

It wasn’t normal for me to listen to country music, but one day on the way to work I tuned in to a country music station to find out about a traffic jam that I was about to get in.  That’s when I heard it–a song that made me smile and cry at the same time.

The voice of Travis Tritt (yes, that Travis Tritt) came through the speakers and he was singing: “It’s a great day to be alive/I know the sun’s still shining when I close my eyes/There’s some dark clouds in the neighborhood,/But why can’t everyday be just this good.”

I believe that God’s voice is not limited to the pages of Scripture or the messages of preachers.  I believe that He can use anything and everything to speak to His creation.  On that morning, He spoke to me through Travis Tritt.  

How has He been trying speak to you?  Maybe it’s time to listen.

Leave a Reply

