Secular Songs for the Lord

I was on my long drive to work a while back as I pondered the songs that we sing in church.  As I thought about them I began to feel really discouraged.  Most of the ones that I could think of focused more on me and what I get from God rather than simply praising and thanking Him for all He has done. 

Songs like Amazing Grace, I’ll Fly Away, and Victory in Jesus are all good, but they do little in the way of saying “thank you God” or “I love you, Lord.” 

I kept thinking about this as I stopped to get gas and something to eat for breakfast at the Pilot gas station off of exit 355.  It kind of got me in a bad mood as I kept thinking about how little pure praise goes on sometimes in my church.

 Then, as I stepped inside the gas station, I heard a familiar song being played….and I started to cry.  It was a secular song about a man’s love for a woman, but that didn’t matter as I turned the focus of it up to God. 

It was “Have I Told You Lately That I Love You” by Rod Stewart.  The words described what I was feeling in my heart better than I could ever have.

“Have I told You lately that I love You?  Have I told You there’s no one else about You?  You fill my heart with gladness; take away all my sadness; ease my troubles, that’s what you do.”

True praise found in a secular song.  How great is that?

Leave a Reply

