I Hate the Gators, But I Love Jesus

Tim Tebow, quaterback of the Florida Gators, became the first underclassman to win the Heisman Trophy.  As much as I hate to admit it, he deserved it.  Darren McFadden had a great year, but Tebow did things that have never been done before and was awarded for it.

But I hate the Gators.  Being a Tennessee Vol fan it is my duty to despise the team that has been our main nemesis for the past 15 or so years.  I had a hard time pulling for him to win it, even though I knew that he should.  In spite of my disdain for the Gators, I rooted for him anyway.  Now, I’m glad that I did.

Tebow started out his acceptance speech by thanking “his Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ” and followed it up a little while later by thanking Him again.  When he was interviewed he thanked God for all of his blessings.  The Bible says, “Let the redeemed of the Lord say so.”  That’s what Tebow did and it is what I wish more athletes, and people in general, would do.

I love it when Jesus is acknowledged and when His name is glorified, even if it is from the mouth of a Gator.  And, as much as I hate to say it, I may have just become a Tim Tebow fan. 

Until his team plays the Vols, that is.

2 thoughts on “I Hate the Gators, But I Love Jesus

  1. I think God is a Tennessee fan, but that’s only one man’s opinion.

    I’m kidding, of course. Hopefully most people will understand that I do not hate the individual players and that hating a football team (at least in my mind) is the equivalent of hating brussel sprouts or Dollywood.

    I love the people that comprise the team, but wish that we (meaning the Vols) would beat them to the point of embarassment on the football field.

Leave a Reply

