Biscuit and Mercy (Part 2)

(A note to readers:  This post is gross–only read if you have a strong stomach)

You may or may not have read my previous post about my chihuahua Biscuit.  If not, take a look at the post entitle “Biscuit and Mercy” from November 2nd. 

I mention in that post how that God used that stupid little dog to teach me a lesson about His Mercy.  Well, God did it again.

A little while back, I was minding my own business watching T.V. and waiting for my kids to go to sleep when I notice something quite disgusting.  Cookie (our other chihuahua) was lounging on the love-seat when Biscuit came walking gingerly into the room.  Dangling from his rear end was a little turd. 

There is really no good way to say that a turd was hanging from his rear end.  Just thinking about it now makes me curl up my nose. 

 Kristy, being in the gagging/puking stage of pregnancy informed me that there was no way that she would be able to deal with the situation.  That meant that I would have to do something about it.  Joy filled my soul.

I got a couple of paper towels and gently picked Biscuit up so as not to send poop flying across the living room.  Once this was accomplished, I reached for the feces, grabbed it, and pulled.  It wasn’t just poop.  Along with it, I pulled 2 Q-tips from Biscuit’s anus.

 Somehow the stupid dog had managed to swallow 2 whole used Q-tips and somehow they managed to make their was through his system.  It was so gross and I marveled at how he could have done something so stupid in the first place. 

Immediately after I discarded the waste, I was reminded of how similar that situation is to the way that God treats me.  I keep doing stupid things; things that I should know better than to do.  I get myself in a jam that I can’t get out of on my own.  I walk around gingerly hoping for the best.

Then I look up at God like Biscuit looked up at me.  And I ask for help. 

No matter how dumb I was in failing and no matter how many times I do the same thing, my God does not hesitate in dealing with the mess I make.

That is a lot of why Christmas means so much to me.  Jesus (God in the flesh) came into the mess of this world to redeem this world and those that dwell in it.  He did not just fix the problems, He came into the problems.  In doing so He not only made a way for us to have a relationship with God, He also gave us an example for how to live.

I know that Biscuit will keep doing stupid things that I will have to fix, but I also know the same about myself.  I am thankful that God has patience and that He is willing to help whenever I fail, no matter how often.

Leave a Reply

