Christmas Tree

We have had our Christmas Tree up since the week before Thanksgiving.  We kept it lit up for the first few days and then stopped.  It was too hard for Kristy to get behind it and plug it up and by the time I got home, I was too tired and it was too late to fool with it.

So the Christmas Tree stood in the corner like an uninvited guest not quite sure what to do.  It was all dressed up, but in the dark.

Until tonight, that is.  I finally got tired of looking at the pathetic thing, so I plugged it up.  I was feeling kind of down and the lights served to brighten my mood. 

There are people I see every day who are going through the motions of life while not truly being engaged (or plugged in to life).  They could be great encouragers to others, brightening up their days.  Instead they pass by person after person, not being used in the way that they were supposed to.

We, like my Christmas tree, have a purpose.  We are here to make a difference.  Many times, we are here to shed light into the lives of others.  If we fail in that, the lives of those that we love lose a little bit of joy.

Sometimes, I’m like my Christmas Tree was.  Standing in the corner of my childrens’ lives, not shining love on them or helping them at all.  I need to remember to stay engaged.  I also need to remember that God is the source of my power and light.  As I look to Him, I am made better in order to make better the lives of others. 

Leave a Reply

