Resigning

Today I resigned as Pastor of Cardiff Baptist Church in Rockwood in order to become Pastor of Stoney Point Baptist Church in Knoxville.  It was a decision that I prayed about for some time and feel that it is truly what God wants me to do.  As I’ve written before, following God is a simple proposition that is rarely easy to do.  Resigning was no exception to that.

I have come to deeply love the members of Cardiff Church.  They are among the most loving people that I have ever been around.  They love God and people and try to express that love in tangible, authentic ways.  Telling them about my resignation ranks way up there on the list of most difficult things that I have ever done. 

I knew that it was coming.  Stoney Point voted to call me as their Pastor last Sunday.  Even though I had time to prepare myself and what I would say, it was still heart-wrenching.  Because I believe in the sovereignty of God, I know that Cardiff will be fine and that they will continue to make a difference for God in this world.  Still, looking out at their faces and hearing their surprised gasps of sadness broke my heart a little. 

My first Sunday at Stoney Point will be January 6th.  The church is located at 1980 Stony Point Road, Knoxville, TN 37914.  I will be posting directions on this site in the near future, but if you need directions before then, please ask.

I’m looking forward to ministering at Stoney Point, but will definately miss the people of Cardiff Baptist Church.  If you are in/around Roane County and are looking for a church home, check out Cardiff–the people are caring and love God.  If you are in/around East Knox County, please visit Stoney Point–I would love to meet you.

3 thoughts on “Resigning

Leave a Reply

