Mike Huckabee’s Christmas Ad

Here is a link to Mike Huckabee’s Christmas Ad:  http://www.mikehuckabee.com/?FuseAction=Blogs.View&Blog_id=920.

I did not want to put a link to a presidential candidate’s website on my blog, but the videos of Huckabee’s ad on YouTube had comments underneath them that I felt were inappropriate.

What I wanted to comment on is the ad itself.  There have been many who have said that he should not have run this ad and others who have made Huckabee their hero because of it.  I come down somewhere in the middle.  I’m fine with the ad, as long as it was done in order to honor Jesus and not to gain favor with Christians.

I do not like when politicians try to manipulate me and my fellow believers by invoking the name of Jesus.  I do not know whether this is the reason for the ad, but I hope that it wasn’t.

What Huckabee says in the ad is true.  Christmas is supposed to be about celebrating the birth of Jesus.  Hopefully everyone who reads these words understands that.

If you do not, I am not trying to force you to believe the same way that I do.  However, I hope that you will not let your dislike of some Christians keep you from reading the words of Jesus and seeing how gracious, kind, and loving He is. 

 Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Mike Huckabee’s Christmas Ad

  1. I’m a “go with your gut” kind of person and that ad rubs me the wrong way. It just seems very transparent and insincere. I tend to distrust the vast majority of politicians on both sides of the aisle, though, and this tendency has resulted in a powerful cynicism that poor Mike Huckabee has no chance of breaking through.

    Merry Christmas Seeking Pastor! Congrats on your new gig. I hope it brings you much happiness and fulfillment.

    I hope that your three-year-old gets better soon.

  2. Thanks for your kind words–it looks like Matthew will get out of the hospital today.

    I have no idea of whether Huckabee is sincere or not. I have, though, become more and more aggravated with what we see from the world of politics. It seems that candidates bring up certain “hot button” issues in order to gain votes, then forget all about them once they are elected. This goes for both sides.

    Oh well. I don’t see this getting any better. It’s a good thing my future is not ultimately in their hands.

Leave a Reply

