Toward Better Health–Again (Part 1)

Well, I did it again.  I have begun my annual campaign to lose weight and get healthy.  Every year, I resolve to do this and almost every year I stop some time in mid-February.  My longest time on the bandwagon was when I lasted until the end of March.  I always lose weight during this time period, only to gain it all back (and often more) later.

That is why I am writing this.  Maybe, by chronicling my journey, I will be held accountable to actually follow through.  So here goes.

Yesterday, I weighed in at 332 pounds.  Now, I’m 6 feet 7 inches tall, so I carry this better than someone shorter.  When I told some people in my department at work how much I weighed, they did not believe me.  They thought that I was under 300.

I really do not know what my ideal weight is, but my long-term goal for now is 260.  That would be a total of 72 pounds.  If I lose an average of 6 pounds per month, I can get there by the end of the year (12 months X 6 pounds).  Of course, I would like to do this quicker, but in the past I have hurt myself by pushing too hard.

My short-term goal is to get below 300, which is attainable.  Normally, when I put my mind to it, I can lose 20-25 pounds fairly easily.  I have begun working out at the exercise facility at work.  I may or may not do this every day because in the past I have gotten burned out by doing so.  Also, I am trying to limit my calorie/food intake.  So far, it is not going well, but I hope to not let that stop me. 

I have almost always been overweight.  There was a time when I was a kid that I was about as wide as I was tall.  I struggled throughout middle school until I shot up several inches in height and all the fat stretched out.  When I graduated high school, I was 6 feet 5 inches and weighed 210 pounds.  This was pretty thin for me.

Those of you who pray, please do so for me.  If you would like to post encouraging comments, that would be great, too.  I am going to try to post about this every Friday/Saturday and tell you how I’ve been doing.  Hopefully it will go down each week, but if not I will strive to keep working at it.

At the beginning–332 pounds.  We’ll see again in a week.

2 thoughts on “Toward Better Health–Again (Part 1)

  1. Thanks for the prayers and I will pray for you as well. It’s not going to be easy, but it is important. I hope to keep it up this time.

Leave a Reply

