1st Day at SPBC

The first day at Stoney Point was a good one with many warm welcomes.  The primary Sunday School class gave me a big card and each of my kids a welcome bag full of goodies.  I really enjoyed seeing several people that I hadn’t seen in a while.

I preached from the 9th chapter of Acts this morning, talking about how Saul (who later is renamed Paul) was on a path that he thought was right, but found out it was wrong after being confronted by Jesus.  He was changed dramatically by this experience and went on to be a wonderful person of faith.  All of us are on a journey.  Some are on a good path filled with joy and the presence of God.  However, some of us have problems that plagued us in 2007 and, if we don’t change course, will follow us through this year as well.  It is important to be open to changing as Saul did. 

In the evening service, I preached about Matthew 16:13-19 where Peter proclaims that Jesus is the Christ the Son of the living God.  Jesus says that upon this rock He will build His church and the gates of Hell shall not prevail against it.  I talked about the need for followers of Jesus to be convinced about who Jesus is if we are going to effectively live our lives patterned after His.  We are blessed if we have a solid foundation and we have no need to worry about what the future holds as we trust in Jesus.

It was a good day and I am looking forward to what God has in store for us.

4 thoughts on “1st Day at SPBC

  1. We will miss (and already miss) you all as well. I’m sorry that I didn’t get a chance to talk to you on my last Sunday. I will send you an e-mail so you will have my address. You will be in my prayers and heart always.

  2. Sounds like you’re off to a great start. I missed hearing you in the choir Sunday, but Jack sure did try his best to fill the void! I’ve never actually heard him sing before. We’ll be keeping your family in our prayers.

  3. Thanks Tammy, we miss you all too. Keep on praying for us and we will keep praying for you and yours as well. Jacob is a good kid (you and David are pretty good, too).

Leave a Reply

