Goodbye Old Friend

Knowing that I am a pastor, when people see my e-mail address (amos78@comcast.net) they assume that it has something to do with the book of Amos in the Bible.  Although Amos is a fine book, it has nothing to do with my e-mail address.

Instead, we used amos in our e-mail address because that is the name of our beagle Amos.  When I was pastoring my first church (East Sunnyview Baptist Church) there was a man there named Nick Strange who raised and trained beagles.  Apparently, one of his beagles accidentally bred with another one that she was supposed to stay away from.  Born from that litter was a puppy with bow-legs and a big belly. 

Nick asked my wife and I if we wanted a beagle.  I said no and Kristy said yes.  When it comes to my wife wanting animals, I can be something of a pushover.  So we got the beagle.  I got to name him.  I chose “Amos.”

From the very beginning Amos displayed a gentle spirit.  When he looked up at me with those big, dark eyes it seemed as though he knew all about my problems and that he cared deeply.  When I would pat him on the head, he would have a look similar to a smile and I felt that all was right with the world.

Over the last couple of years, Amos began to show signs of wear and tear.  He developed skin problems due to a liver problem.  We tried medicine, but nothing seemed to work.  His condition worsened over the past few months and it was evident that we would have to make the painful decision to put him to sleep.

Kristy took him to the vet today.  Amos died sometime after 1:30 pm.

I’m not what you would consider a big animal lover.  But when you spend a portion of your life with a dog that shows you unconditional love day after day, he becomes much more than an animal—he becomes a friend.

So, goodbye old friend.  You will be greatly missed and fondly remembered.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Old Friend

Leave a Reply

