My Own Little Calvin

The comic strip Calvin and Hobbes has long been a favorite of mine.  I grieved for a while after the artist, Bill Watterson, called it quits a few years ago.  Fortunately, I have a couple of compilation books that I can read if I ever get a yearning for the dry wit, intelligent humor, and social commentary that the comic strip provided.

In reading a little of one of these books, I noticed something that caused me to enjoy it a little more.  Calvin, the little boy who has a stuffed-tiger named Hobbes, is a hyperactive, highly imaginative boy with wild, unkempt hair who is constantly causing his parents to become exasperated.  To him, Hobbes is a real tiger and his best friend.  Mischief seems to follow him and he appears to enjoy life to the fullest.

My son Bradley is exactly like Calvin.  He is a little smaller than the other kids–like Calvin.  He is full of energy (i.e. hyperactive)–like Calvin.  He has wild hair that grows out at different angles all over his head–like Calvin.  He treats his stuffed animals as they were really alive and talks to them–like Calvin.  And he keeps his parents (Kristy and me) on our toes–like Calvin.

Realizing this has helped me a great deal.  While Bradley is my child that aggravates me more than the others, Calvin is one of the comic characters that I most enjoy.  This has caused me to take a step back and look at Bradley’s shenanigans from a different perspective and appreciate the fact that he is different from the others and that this is okay. 

I have faith that his energy and zeal for life will lead him to make an impact in this world and that he is a child with a lot of potential if that can be directed in the right way.  I pray that I will have the ability to help him in this area and that I will take the time to enjoy him and his interesting personality to the fullest.

(Note to readers:  If you feel compelled to assist a church in being all that it can be, please click on “To Help a Church” at the top of this page)

Leave a Reply

