2nd Day of Prayer Revival

The Bible is a book that challenges its readers on almost every page.  Unfortunately, many sermons from God’s word are not as challenging due to well-meaning yet misguieded preachers who shy away from the more difficult material.  Don Pierson is not one of those type of preachers.

Tonight he focused on 2 main topics.  One is that to be heard by God when we pray, we must be righteous.  While those who have accepted Jesus have been declared righteous, we must strive to remain right before God.  If we do not, God does not hear us when we pray.  As James declares “The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”  Being in right standing causes us to be heard.

The second main thing is that we need to have more focus when we are earnestly praying.  The main “it,” if you will.  Prayer lists are good and we need to remember all of the needs, however we must be burdened by particular things to pray for if we are to pray with all of our hearts.

I pray that all in attendance (including me) will take this message seriously and strive for holiness.

4 thoughts on “2nd Day of Prayer Revival

  1. What a blessing. I have lived many years as a Christian woman and I feel I can move around in God’s word relatively well but after tonight I realized that I have been praying all the wrong ways. What a marvelous eye-opener to see that I can personally go to the Lord with specific prayers and have him answer them. I also learned tonight that I have been a thief in the past. I learned that over the years I have stood in the way of many coming to know the Lord because of my actions. I truly bless My Lord that these things have come to light and petition Him that I will truly be a witness to his Son from here on.

  2. Thanks, Nonnie. That is one of the things I didn’t include that I should have. Don pointed out that we are thieves if our actions take away from God and His work in people’s lives. So important and so true.

  3. Preacher Matt, Thank you so much for sharing what information that Bro. Pierson has given you. I know that when he came to Cardiff in Decemeber last year, my prayer life was changed from instruction and knowledge that he gave to us. It sounds like many people in your congregation will get the same or even better benefit from this revival. Special thanks to Nonnie for sharing what she learned. If we are all honest, we have been theives in many ways. God forgive me for being such a person as this.

    I also want to thank you for sharing the main points of his sermons. This week was one week that I wanted to benefit from this meeting, but it has not worked out to be there. With your sharing, I am able to get some of the benefit of his sermon. Does your church have cassettes or cd’s of this meeting available for the public? If so, how would someone be able to receive them?

    May God bless you and your family who are so dear to my heart. I know God is doing mighty things with your ministry at Stoney Point.

  4. Theda,
    Thanks for writing–I hope you are doing well and have been praying for you, your family, and the church. We have enjoyed having Don with us and I believe that people have been transformed by the messages. I pray that it continues to transform us.

    Our church does have cd’s of the last three services, but not the ones for Sunday. When copies are made, I will send them to you.

    God Bless you and yours as well.

Leave a Reply

