Good Friday

Easter is upon us with thoughts of the Easter Bunny visiting and new Easter clothes to wear.  For me, it is probably the greatest time of year.  After trudging through winter, it is the sign that spring is truly upon us.  But, of course, it is more than all of that.

Easter is when we celebrate the resurrection of Jesus from the dead.  Regardless of what the critics may say, it really happened.  Something that happens is true even if everyone thinks that it is a lie.  Jesus really died to pay the price for our sins, He was really placed in a tomb, and He really rose again. 

Some may say that no thinking person could believe such a thing.  I disagree.  I’ve thought about it, studied it, asked difficult questions about it, and still I believe as firmly that it is a reality as I did when I was a child.  To be honest, I’m more sure of it now than ever.

To get to the resurrection, though, Jesus first had to die.  Which is what Good Friday is all about.  The crucifixion of Jesus is the most evil thing that has ever happened to the most beautiful being to ever live.  So why do we call it Good Friday?

Because even though it was evil, God ordained it to happen for the good of the world and for the good of Himself.  Through the death and resurrection of Jesus, we can have access to a relationship with God.  This is both for our good and His glory.  Our God, who is both loving and just, made a way for both his love and justice to be satisfied.  He loved us, so He wanted us to be with Him, but His justice demanded a payment for sin.  On the cross Jesus did what could not be done by us in that He caused God’s love and justice to collide.  The result was gruesome, yet beautiful. 

How did you spend Good Friday?  Did you think of Christ on the cross?  Did you ponder His power and His love?  Did you spend time with your family and talk about the gift of Jesus to the world?

My family and I went to Cades Cove.  We went on a carriage ride, drove around the loop, and ate lunch at the picnic area.  And we talked about Jesus.  I pondered as I drove looking at God’s wonderful creation about God’s unending love for us.  My kids enjoyed our time together and my wife and I did too.  Later in the day, we went by trolly into Gatlinburg from Pigeon Forge, went shopping, and enjoyed a meal together.  All of this helped to remind me just how blessed I am to have the family that I have.

But I’m more blessed to have a relationship with Jesus–the one who made it possible for every day to be good because of what He did on Good Friday.

(note to readers:  if you want to be a blessing to a church, please click on “To Help a Church” at the top of this page to find out how)

2 thoughts on “Good Friday

Leave a Reply

