Tombstone

I have a favorite t-shirt.  It was given to me by Linda Durham, a wonderful lady who is like your favorite grandmother, only a touch cooler.  She was at a worship conference for seniors when she saw this shirt and felt she had to get it for me.  On the back is the quote “Live your life so the preacher doesn’t have to lie at your funeral.” 

When I was putting this shirt on yesterday, I thought a morbid thought.  Morbid thoughts come to me on occasion.  I’m not creeped out by them.  Rather, I welcome them.  It is in thinking about death that I see better how I should live.

I thought for a few moments on what I would like the theme of my funeral sermon to be.  Many funerals have themes, though they may not be perceptible to people who have never spoken at one.  One theme may be the love that the deceased had for his/her family.  Another theme may be the dedication the deceased showed to his/her church.

I think a good theme would be “Flawed but faithful.”  That pretty much sums up how I try to live life, anyway. 

I’m a messed up person.  I don’t have a problem admitting that because we are all messed up.  We all have our own idiosyncracies, sins, and strange behaviors.  Some are easier to see than others, but that does not mean that they are nonexistant. 

I am often too harsh with my children.  I don’t always listen to my family with great enthusiasm.  I can become self-absorbed in a flash.  I worry far too frequently.  And I have a short attention span. 

Those are just a few of my issues.  There is not enough space to list them all.  Of course, you have pletny of problems as well.  We all do. 

The thing that we should strive for then is to be faithful even though we are flawed.  I’m not the best husband or father in the world, but I am faithful to my family.  I’m trying to improve.  I’m not the best pastor or preacher out there, but I give all I can to remain faithful to my calling.  I’m as flawed as the next person, but I have faith that God knows what He is doing.  So I give up my life daily to the One who can transform me to be the man I was made to be.

That is what being “flawed but faithful” is really all about.  Hopefully you are on this journey with me.  It’s a great ride.

Leave a Reply

