George Carlin’s Death

I did not watch George Carlin’s stand-up routines.  I did not know him.  We had very little in common.  But I still am saddened at his death.

Apparently, he had very little use for God.  I am hopeful that he accepted God’s gracious gift of salvation before his passing.  He was loved by his Creator, whether he knew it or not. 

I am not only grieved about his death, I am also grieved at the response of many of my fellow Christians.  Reading statements like, “Good riddance” and “In his act he mocked God–I wonder if he’ll tell God a few jokes before he goes to Hell” makes me understand even more why many reject Christianity.  As Ghandi said, “I like your Christ, but I do not like your Christians.  Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.” 

Regardless of Carlin’s faith or lack thereof, he was still a human being that God loved.  Because of that, I mourn his passing and pray for his family. 

May God have mercy on those who believe it is their responsiblity to condemn anyone else to Hell.

One thought on “George Carlin’s Death

Leave a Reply

