Wasting Our Lives

We only have one life–one precious time frame in which to live.  Whether long or short, our lives are often lived in a state of dullness.  What we feel is truly important in life changes. 

At one point, basketball was important to me.  I played it, read about it, and dreamed about being a great NBA superstar.

At another point, various girlfriends (I didn’t have many of them, really) where vitally important.  Until those realationships ended–leaving me feeling foolish.

Other things were important at others times:  school, writing, business, children, being right…all these things had my highest attention.

All the while, the really important thing was staring at me from the pages of Scripture.  Paul summarized it best in the book of Phillippians:  “For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.”

Jesus–His example and His words–that is the key to a life of purpose.  Being dead to my selfish desires and my deluded imaginings of what is important and being alive to what Jesus places importance on. 

Love, mercy, grace, forgiveness, being blessed to be a blessing, reaching out to show the love of God in tangible ways.  A life focused upward to Him in praise and outward to Him by my actions toward others.  That is what can satisfy a person hungry for a life of purpose. 

My hopes and dreams have slowly changed (and are slowly changing) from being centered on materialistic desires for a better future for just me and mine to being centered on knowing Christ and making Him known in as many ways as I possibly can.

I don’t want to waste any more of my life.  I hope you’re with me.

Leave a Reply

