I’m Not Patriotic According to John McCain

Please do not think I am disrespecting John McCain with this post.  I admire his service to this country greatly.  Also, please do not think that I am endorsing him above Barack Obama in the presidential election.  As a minister of the Gospel, I do not think it is my responsibility to publicly endorse one candidate over another.  It is my responsibility to lift Jesus up and no one else.

That being said, I was a tad bothered by something John McCain said the other day about patriotism.  You can read it here:  http://news.yahoo.com/page/parade/patriotism/mccain.

Here is an excerpt of the passage that was bothersome to me:  “Patriotism is deeper than its symbolic expressions, than sentiments about place and kinship that move us to hold our hands over our hearts during the national anthem. It is putting the country first, before party or personal ambition, before anything.”

If putting the country first before anything is what it takes to be patriotic, then I do not qualify.  While I am glad to be a citizen of this great land, as a follower of Jesus I can put nothing first other than the one who died on the cross for me.

I think I understand the thought process behind McCain’s words.  I believe that he meant that the country is more important than political parties or particular ideologies.  But that is not how it came out.

The freedom that I enjoy here is outstanding and I do not take it for granted.  However, if those freedoms disappeared tomorrow, I would still have the freedom from sin that Jesus has given me.  For that reason, I could never put anything first above Christ my King no matter how great this country may be.

Leave a Reply

