Good Morning Miss Ruby

In my childhood, one thing was a summer constant.  I would go to Vacation Bible School (VBS) at least twice–once at my church and once at my Grandmother’s church.  Nannie (as she was called) went to Mt. Carmel Baptist Church on Ruggles Ferry Pike in East Knoxville.  I liked the VBS at my church, but Mt. Carmel’s was different–it was during the day.  More specifically, it was held from 9am-Noon. 

Ruby Bell was the VBS director at that time and had been for a long as anyone could remember.  One of my favorite parts of VBS there was right after we marched in and Mrs. Ruby would say these words in her sing-song, old-lady voice-“Good Morning faculty and boys and girls.”  To which all the children would reply in sing-song, little-kid voices “Good Morninnnggggg Miss Ruuuuubyyyyy!”

I can still hear the exchange reverberating in my ears today.  Except it’s a little softer now that Ruby Bell has passed away.

She slipped from this world into her Heavenly Home on Thursday, July 17th at the age of 92.  I trust that on her first day in Heaven she indeed had a Good Morning–her best ever. 

It seems that more and more of those who I looked up to as a child are dying.  I’m not sure what is more sad; the fact that they are dying or the fact that there are fewer and fewer who are stepping up to take their places. 

I’m thankful for Miss Ruby, for all the “Good Mornings, and for all the others who have helped me along the journey of faith.  In the meantime, I hope that my life is a light to others so that more can experience that greatest morning that is yet to come.

8 thoughts on “Good Morning Miss Ruby

  1. No need to hope that your life is a light to others – rest assured that God has blessed you with a wonderful warmness to nurture and affect so many people. You are indeed a blessing to me and John and to our whole family. I am glad you are my nephew (by default) and I am even happier that you are my pastor and my friend.

    It is very sad when loved ones and others that have made such an impact to your life pass away, but you can rest assured that you have not “lost” them. Not only is there the assurance that, for those who were Christians, they are safe in the arms of Jesus, you are also assured that you will once again be with them. It will probably be different since they will be changed – but so will you and you won’t realize the difference. Oh what a glorious morning with we wake up in the presence of our Saviour.

    I will look forward to meeting Mrs. Ruby one day.

  2. Matt, thanks for your kind words and love for Mrs. Ruby. She has always been very special to me and our family. Keep up the good work with your blog-site and ministry.

  3. Matthew,
    Thanks so much for your sweet memory of Mother. She, like your Grandmother, were very special ladies. They made an impact on so many lives. I hope I can be half the Mother and Grandmother that my Mom was. You’re right, few people are stepping up to take their place.
    Thanks again for being so sweet to remember my Mom.
    Cathern

  4. Cathern,
    I wasn’t around her much over the last several years, but do remember her fondly. She was a treasure to her family, her church, and so many children through the years.

    Macie,
    Thanks for reading and your kind words. Just trying to be a blessing.

    Tammie,
    Thanks for your words as well. We are all called to do the best we can with what we have. Whether that is much or little is irrelevant. What is relevant is our obedience to our Savior. Let’s keep on keeping on.

  5. Matt, thank you so much for your kind words about Grandmother. She definitely was a Proverbs 31 woman! Just like you I remember those summer mornings at VBS, the singing, and let’s not forget all the scripture Grandmother made everyone memorize!!
    When Grandmother passed away last Thursday morning, one of my first thoughts was that she finally seeing Granddaddy and her dear friend Ms. Johnnie. Imagine what a time they’re all having! And on top of all that seeing the Savior you’ve faithfully served all your life face to face! WOW!!

  6. Lauren,
    Those memories are awesome by themselves. What makes them even better is that they serve as examples for all of us of how to live lives devoted to something greater than ourselves. Our purpose is to glorify God. Others have given their lives to this cause–it’s our turn to keep it going.
    God Bless.

  7. Matt,
    Thank you so much for the kind words and memories of Grandmother. She, like Ms. Johnnie, were very special ladies. I am sad that the world is without her, but over joyed that she is with Granddaddy again and our Savior. May God continue to bless you.

  8. Carrie,
    It was my pleasure. It is easy to write about people who live good lives. May we all strive to bring glory to God daily.

Leave a Reply

