Sadness

My last post about the shooting at Tennessee Valley Unitarian Universalist Church was incomplete because I did not express something that I should have.  I have an intense feeling of sadness.

Two people are dead, others injured, and so many more who will never be able to forget the evil that they witnessed.  There are children whose sense of safety was shattered.  There are parents who have no good answers.  There is great pain–physical, emotional, and spiritual. 

Not only that, there are some professing Christians out there that feel that this happened as God’s punishment for TVUUC’s pro-gay teachings.  Have I heard anyone say this?  No.  But I know from experience that this thinking is out there.  This increases my sadness.  Those who claim to follow Jesus should know better than to place themselves as God’s spokespeople declaring the causes of tragedies both far and near.  We are all sinners who need God’s mercy.

Let me be clear.  I do not share TVUUC’s position concerning homosexuality.  There are other major points that I disagree with them on.  But no one deserves what happened yesterday. 

I am saddened for the one accused of committing this horrible act.  He thought he was doing the right thing.  He thought he was doing something for the good of our country.  He was deluded; he was wrong. 

What, then, are we to do in light of this evil and all the other evils that seem to abound?  Romas 12:21 informs my opinion in this matter.  “Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.”

So, I will strive to not allow my sadness over evil to overcome me.  Instead, I will seek to do good deeds.  In this was, whether big or small, I will make this world a better place and take part in overcoming evil.

Leave a Reply

