Our Sins Do Not Stay Hidden

On Saturday morning, after enjoying an unusually long night of sleep, I spent some time with my children in the living room.  But one of my kids was conspicuously absent.  This is not rare.  Bradley, our 5 yr old, is somewhat anti-social.  He would rather be in his room by himself most of the time that with anyone else.  I didn’t imagine him doing anything wrong–until Kristy entered the bedroom and I heard her say “Oh no, oh no, oh no.”

These “oh no’s” were not of the “someone is hurt, please come quick” variety.  They were more of the “I’m about the hurt someone, please come quick” ilk.  I walked into the bedroom and saw the reason for the “oh no’s”.  Someone had drawn all over one of the walls with a blue sharpie.  Upon furhter inspection we saw that there was also writing on one of the beds and a pillow. 

Since Bradley was standing there by himself, I asked him who did it.  Of course the ever prest “Not Me” showed up.  “Not Me” is always there when something bad happens.  At this point I summoned the rest of the kids into the bedroom and asked them who did it–“Not Me” they all said. 

I was a little upset and told them they we would not go anywhere until someone confessed.  That is when Kristy looked on the inside part of the bed.  There the culprit had signed their masterpiece.  Bradley had written his name. 

Although I was upset over what Bradley had done, I was more agitated over his failed cover-up attempt that anything else.  As I pondered on this further, though, I realized that what he did is what most of us try to do. 

We try to keep our sins hidden. 

Honestly, we do a pretty good job of this.  We hide our sins from our family, friends, and fellow church members.  We’ve gotten good at putting on a good face and making ourselves seem better than what we are.

But we can’t hide from God–the only one that really matters.

I don’t know about you, but this makes me so thankful for His grace.  Without it, we would all be doomed.  What is frustrating to me is that even though His grace is offered, we often choose to carry our guilt over sin around for a while before we come to God and accept His great forgiveness.

We sin daily–which is bad.  God’s grace if offered to us daily–which is good.  Let’s not pretend that we are perfect and let each of us rely on the goodness of the Lover of our souls.

Leave a Reply

