It Is Well With My Soul

Amazing Grace seems to be the favorite song of many believers.  This is understandable, of course.  Once you have experienced God’s awesome grace, there really is nothing sweeter to be found.  Unmerited favor from an Almighty God that we did not deserve and can not repay is something worth singing about.

My wife prefers “The Worm Song.”  That is what she calls the song At the Cross because of the line–“would He devote that sacred head for such a worm as I.”  The cross is where Jesus brought together God’s justice and love so that we could have life.  Yet another thing worth singing about.

I’ve had several favorite songs off and on throughout the years, but have kept the same one as “my song” for quite a while and I don’t think I’ll be changing my mind anytime soon.  It is Well With My Soul was written by Horatio Spafford following several traumatic events in his life.  In 1871, his only son died as a result of typhoid fever and a short time later the great Chicago fire brought him financial struggles.  Two years later, he planned a trip for himself, his wife, and their 4 daughters to Europe aboard the S.S. Ville du Havre.  Horatio was held up from going as planned because of business, but sent his wife and daughters ahead of him with the knowledge that he would come along shortly thereafter.  While crossing the Atlantic Ocean, the ship struck another ship and sank, killing all four of his dauthers.  Anna, Spafford’s wife, survived and \ sent a telegram upon reaching Europe that simply stated “Saved Alone.”  As Spafford travelled across the ocean to meet up with his wife, the ship that he was sailing on passed near where his daughters had died.  This is where Horatio Spafford wrote the words for It is Well With My Soul.

While the story behind the song is amazing and inspiring, the words of the song are even more so.  My favorite verse is says this:

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!

My sin not in part, but the whole,

Is nailed to the Cross and I bear it no more,

Praise the Lord, Praise the Lord, oh my soul!

Except for what is written in the Bible, there is no verse of song ever written that stirs my soul like these words.  To me, this is what Christmas is about.  The baby Jesus laying in a manger is great, but the God-man Jesus on the cross dying for my sins is even greater.

Praise the Lord, Praise the Lord, oh my soul!

2 thoughts on “It Is Well With My Soul

  1. I feel the same way about the song It Is Well With My Soul. I’ve had terrible tragedy in my life and that song is what I hold on to. My previous husband shot himself while on the phone with me five years ago last month. And on January 8th 2009 I lost my 18 year old beautiful daughter in a car accident. My heart is torn in two. But, God is still God and He will always will be. There is no change there. My life may fall apart, but He’s there waiting for me to come to Him and for that I am so grateful….
    Danna

    • Amen, Danna. God is still God regardless of the circumstances that may come into our lives. May it always be well with our souls.

Leave a Reply

