Good to Be Home

We have just returned home from a few days in L.A. (Lower Alabama).  My wife was born and raised in and around Montgomery, Alabama and we traveled down there for the funeral of her cousin, Tom Davis. 

Tom was a man with a generous heart and a good sense of humor.  Unfortunately, I never was able to spend a great deal of time with him, but the time I did spend with him I enjoyed.  Most important, he was ready to meet God. 

I was asked to take a part in preaching the funeral and accepted the invitation.  I always count it an honor and a privilege to play this role and hope that I succeeded in honoring both God and Tom. 

It was not an easy trip, but it was a good trip.  Our kids behaved amazingly (for the most part) and my wife was able to catch up with some family and friends.

On the way home, we received a phone call telling us of bad news.  A couple that have been attending our church for almost a year are in the process of delivering their twin babies stillborn.  Please pray for them as they go through this trying ordeal.

Death is a real part of life.  There is nothing we can do to change it. 

I’m glad that God is real and that He really loves us.

Leave a Reply

