1 Corinthians 9:19-23

I’m really digging this passage right now. 

 19For though I be free from all men, yet have I made myself servant unto all, that I might gain the more.

 20And unto the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might gain the Jews; to them that are under the law, as under the law, that I might gain them that are under the law;

 21To them that are without law, as without law, (being not without law to God, but under the law to Christ,) that I might gain them that are without law.

 22To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.

 23And this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I might be partaker thereof with you.

 We began looking at this passage during our Wednesday Night service last week with the theme of “Now What?” 

What I mean by this particular theme is this:  Now that we have been saved, what are we to be doing?  What should drive us, motivate us, and get us up and going day after day?

Our jobs?  Our families?  Our health?  Our bills?  Surely our lives are more important than those things (even though those things do have some importance). 

If we believe the Scriptures, we should believe that our lives are to be lived for God’s glory and for the upbuilding of His great Kingdom.  To that end we should be willing to become whatever we need to become (short of sin) in order to reach more people with the glorious Gospel of Jesus Christ. 

To often, we want to be who we are as individual Christians and as churches and expect everyone to conform to our way of doing things.  This is not biblical.

We should NEVER change the message.  It is true today, tomorrow, and forever. 

We should, however, re-evaluate how the message is presented and do all we can to reach everyone we can for the sake of the Kingdom.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

