Me, You, and Shia

Shia LaBeuf is not a name that everyone knows, but his face is one that most have seen.  Maybe you (or your child) used to watch the Disney Channel’s Even Stevens or maybe you have see the movies Holes.  It’s possible that you saw him in Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull playing the title character’s son or being protected by Bumblebee in Transformers. 

Some of his characters have been shy and awkward.  Others have been cocky and opinionated.  Either way, he has gained fame and fortune doing something that millions of people can only dream about.

But in real life he struggles with doubts and questions that seem to give him little rest.

I read an article the other day in Parade Magazine about Shia by Dotson Rader.  It made me sad.

In it he is quoted as saying, “Sometimes I feel I’m living a meaningless life and I get frightened.” 

About feeling unworthy, he says “I have no idea where this insecurity comes from, but it’s a God-sized hole.  If I knew, I’d fill it, and I’d be on my way.” 

About why things have happened in his life, he says, “I have no answers to anything.  None.  Why am I an alcoholic? I haven’t a d— clue!  What is life about?  I don’t know.”

In many ways, I have been where he is.  So have you. 

Struggling, wondering, searching.  Never grasping what it is that you know is missing.  Others around you have the answers to questions that you are not asking. 

The sadness I feel for Shia could be described as empathy–knowing how he feels.  But it also comes from knowing that he is not looking in the right places for the answers that he is seeking. 

He is worried about living a meaningless life when the One who gave him life is eager for a relationship with him.

He calls it a “God-sized hole,” yet he is trying to fill it with anything but God. 

Relationships.  Fame.  Money.  Alcohol.  But not God.

He wonders what life is about.

It is about what it has always been about. 

God and His glory.

Extolling the worth of the One who gives worth to all other things.

Resting in the sovereignty of the Almighty.

I’ll be praying for Shia, for me, and for you.  That we will all realize that what we have been looking for is very close to each one of us. 

God and God alone.

Leave a Reply

