Rain Walking

I walked in the rain today and it felt so good.  You should really try it sometime.

This is not something that I do on a regular basis.  Normally on rainy days I try to spend most of my time indoors, but I am once again on a weight-loss kick and today I felt an overwhelming urge to walk.  So, I did.

I found myself with about an hour to kill near Holston River Park; a fairly well kept up piece of property with fishing piers, soccer fields, a playground, picnic tables, and a walking trail.  To me, the perfect conditions for a walk include a sky with a few fluffy clouds blocking some of the sun, a temperature of about 70 degrees, and a familiar path.  None of those were present for my walk today.  Rain was falling, the temperature was a little less than 60, and I was unacquainted with the path. 

Even though the conditions weren’t perfect, I decided to walk anyway.  The decision was based on the knowledge that I need to exercise if I am going to meet my goal.  I have already lost 30 pounds and need to shed about 45 more.  I could have sat in the car and complained about the rainy, dreary weather.  In fact, I was highly anticipating doing so.  Then I started thinking.

If I only walk when the conditions are perfect, I will not do much walking.  Complaining about the conditions will not help me reach my goal.  If I am really going to achieve what I desire, I must refuse to allow circumstances to dictate my schedule.

As I slogged through puddles in the rain, I began to ponder how common it is for us to wait on perfect conditions before taking action and how such waiting often causes us to miss golden opportunities.

Some people I know have done this with jobs, children, vacations, and dreams; waiting for enough courage, enough money, enough time, enough gumption.  Most Christians I know have done this at times with following what God has impressed upon them to do.

Always aiming, never firing.

We know that we should tell our neighbor about the life-changing Gospel, but the timing just doesn’t seem right.  We know that we should contact those we have hurt to seek forgiveness, but the conditions aren’t quite perfect.  We know that we should begin a particular ministry, but worry about the risks involved.

If we only follow God when the conditions are perfect, we will not do much following.  Complaining about the conditions will not help us reach our goals.  If we are really going to achieve what God desires for our lives, we must refuse to allow circumstances to dictate our schedules.

Those who follow Christ must realize that walking with Him means that often we will be walking through storms down unfamiliar paths.  But when the conditions seem imperfect to us, they are often perfect to Him.  Walking with Christ in the rain is far better than walking in the sunshine alone.

I walked in the rain today and it felt so good.  You should really try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

