Seedy Lies

Nothing screams “It’s Summer” quite like seeing a bunch of little kids happily munching on big slices of watermelon.  Eating the succulent fruit with reckless abandon not caring that their faces, hands, arms, clothes, and the chairs they are sitting on are getting saturated with sticky juice, lost in delight.  Someone is going to have to clean up the mess, but they don’t care.  All that concerns them is enjoying the moment; enjoying each bite.

Theoretically, I could eat watermelon the same as a child, rapturously devouring slice after slice.  Theoretically, I could buy a big ‘ol watermelon, crack it open, and engorge myself any time I desire.  Theoretically, there is nothing stopping me from watermelon delight.

In reality, I can’t do any of these things.  And it’s all because of a lie.

As a child I was told that if you swallow a watermelon seed, a watermelon would grow inside of my stomach. 

Maybe calling this a lie is too strong of a word; it was meant to be a joke, I suppose.  One of those little lies that adults jokingly tell kids, not thinking that that kids are actually going believe them.  But I did believe them.

I truly believed that swallowing a watermelon seed would cause a watermelon to grow inside of me.  Yes, it was very stupid and I was very gullible.  But that did not decrease my anxiety level over eating watermelons.  I began a habit of saying no thank you to all offers of watermelon, no matter how delicious they looked. 

When I finally mustered up the courage to try watermelon again, I carefully picked through each slice, making sure that no seeds were allowed entrance into my mouth.  Everyone else seemed to be flippantly taking in large chunks, not caring at all about the dangers of seed-swallowing.  I, on the other hand, was filled with dread.

And then it happened—I swallowed a seed.  The details of what happened next are fuzzy, but I know I started praying.  I told God that I would never eat watermelon again if He didn’t let a watermelon grow in my belly.  And then I waited.  After a few days of no noticeable belly changes I knew that God had answered my prayer.  And I stopped eating watermelon. 

As I grew older and realized that I had been “had,” I reneged on my end of the no-eating-watermelon deal.  But the damage had already been done.  I was so accustomed to saying “no thanks” that I still don’t eat much watermelon to this day.  And when I do, I am still very careful about not swallowing the seeds.

So while I would like to eat it without a care in the world like one of my children, I still have a mental block that prevents me from enjoying it as much as I could.  All because of a lie.

Sadly, lies are still being told that keep people from profound joy and the lies are being believed.  These lies are far more damaging than the one that I was told and the ramifications are far more severe. 

Maybe you have heard a few of these lies.  Maybe you’ve heard a voice saying “God doesn’t love you” or “God won’t forgive you.”  Somewhere along the line you may have heard the lie that you have to be perfect for God to care about you.

I let the watermelon seed lie keep me from enjoying watermelon, but maybe you have allowed these lies to keep you from experiencing the joy of God’s love.  My predicament was silly, but this predicament is a tragedy. 

Maybe you’ve heard these lies.  Maybe you have believed them.  Maybe you see others enjoying intimate relationships with Almighty God and you wish you could have the same thing.

Stop believing the lies.  Even though we are unworthy of God’s love, He still loves us.  Jesus died on the cross so that those who believe in Him could have a relationship with the God of all creation.  What you have done, not matter how heinous, can be forgiven.

Allowing the light of Christ to enter you life will cause the lies to fade away.  Then you will be able to enjoy walking with God, moment by moment.

Leave a Reply

