Thankful to Count

After a particularly tough-to-preach sermon one Sunday, my family decided to go to Cracker Barrel for lunch.  Not being too pleased with myself, I was slow to get out of the car and head toward the restaurant.  Matthew, who was 4-years-old at the time, stayed back to walk with me.  I’m not sure of his intentions, but what happened next was all about God teaching me a lesson.

As he grabbed my hand, he pulled on it in order to gain my attention.  He looked up at me and with incredible joy in his bespectacled eyes said in his stuttering way, “D-d-dady, you sure preached good today.”

I appreciated his kindness, really I did.  But I didn’t feel like I preached good at all.  In fact, it may have been the worst sermon that I can ever remember.  I looked down at his expectant eyes and said, “I’m not much count.” 

Matthew looked up at me for a moment, then back down at his feet.  He finally looked back up and said:

“W-w-w-well, you sure do count in this family.”

Big words from a small child can do wonders to brighten your day.  His words did that for me.  But it was more than that.  It was a reminder that no matter what I think about myself or what others think about me, I count.

I count to God who created me, sustains me, and desires a relationship with me.  I count to my wife who chose to marry me in spite of my un-romantic nature.  I count to my children who desire my attention and my love.  I count to others who I have helped and who have helped me.

And no matter what you think about yourself–you count, too.

We have been created with purpose and on purpose.  Our lives can and do make a difference in the lives of others. 

We count.  I’m thankful for that.

(I won’t be blogging over the Thanksgiving Holiday.  I hope you have a fantastic one filled with good food and good company.  Thanks for reading.)

Leave a Reply

