The Star of Christmas

There isn’t a day that goes by without me singing at least the first part of The Facts of Life theme song.  I’ve confessed to a lot of weird things on this blog, but that might be the weirdest.  In my defense, though, it is a catchy tune.  Unfortunately the show wasn’t as good as the song.

Yes, I watched the show.  I’m sure that I laughed along at the antics of the girls from the prestigious Eastland School.  I’m sure that I was saddened when Edna’s Edibles burnt to the ground and elated when Over Our Heads took its place.  I’m sure that I didn’t notice George Clooney all that much when he was on the show and surprised when his career really took off several years later.  And I’m sure I was disappointed when the show was cancelled.

None of this means that I liked it, though. Why did I watch it, then?  Lack of options.  My family didn’t get cable television until I was a Senior in high school.  My dad always told me that beggars can’t be choosers.  I wasn’t necessarily a beggar, but I felt like it sometimes.  Only having three main channels does that to a kid, especially when the president decided to address the nation.  And especially when he interrupted The Dukes of Hazzard.  I liked President Reagan, but I like Daisy Duke a little more. 

Recently I’ve thought about The Facts of Life more than any grown man really should.  Because of this, I have asked a small sampling of people (about 5) a perplexing question:  Who was the main character of the show?

One person thought that Mrs. Garrett was the main character.  Mrs. Garrett was important to be sure, but calling her the main character would be like saying Gonzo was the main muppet.  Ridiculous.  The other respondents were split evenly between Blair and Jo.  Those answers made more sense.  Blair got a lot of face time because of her looks and Jo often stole the show as the street-wise girl with a heart of gold.  No one chose Natalie or Tootie, for obvious reasons. 

The end result of my survey is this: there wasn’t just one main character in The Facts of Life.  It was an ensemble.  The stories focused on them as a group mostly and individual characters occasionally.  No one character dominated the show.

The same can’t be said for the Christmas story.  Jesus is the star.

All of the other people are important.  Mary, of course, is vital to the story.  She was visited by an angel and conceived a child in a miraculous way.  Joseph is important, as well.  With the mindset to break ties with Mary after finding out that she was pregnant, he was told that the baby would save his people from their sins.  The shepherds, the angels, and the wise men (when they finally arrived on the scene) all played important roles that should be noticed.

But the importance of everyone else pales in comparison to Jesus. 

This is still true.

World leaders seem important with their security guards and reporters following their every move.  Famous actors and actresses adorn the covers of magazines and are idolized by fans.  Athletes are placed on pedestals and praised for their prowess.  People think that they are more important than they really are.

Including me and you.  We think that we are the stars of our own shows.  Our own little worlds revolved around our own little lives.  We may never say this, but it is surely how we spend out time behaving. 

How we perceive things doesn’t really matter.  Throughout all of history and throughout the rest of eternity, Jesus is the star.  He is the One that everything else hinges upon.  He is the one with the name that has been exalted above every name.

Jesus.  The Christ.  The Messiah.  Immanuel.  God with us.  On Christmas day, on each and every day, it is Jesus who deserves praise, adoration, and so much more.

Jesus is the star of Christmas. 

And every day before. 

And every day since.

May our minds be filled with this knowledge and our hearts be filled with His love this Christmas and beyond.

2 thoughts on “The Star of Christmas

Leave a Reply

