The Tedious Things are Worth It (Sometimes)

You might keep your ice scraper in the in your glove box or under the driver’s seat of your car; I keep mine in my wallet.  Actually, I have several ice scrapers in there.  My ice scrapers have other uses as well.  One of them is also my insurance card, one of them is my Dollywood season pass, and one of them is my Sam’s Club card.  I used to have an ice scraper that was also my driver’s license, until it broke in half. 

I’m not sure when I quit having an actual ice scraper, kind of like I’m not sure when my wife and I stopped matching socks and decided that throwing all of our socks in one basket was the way to go.  Things like this just happen without any thought or reason.  Sort of like the decision to eat a leftover Krystal hamburger for breakfast.  In case you’re wondering, that is a bad idea.

Honestly, I am kind of shocked that there are people who still match their socks.  It is such a tedious, un-rewarding thing to do.  You work and work, only to find that there are some socks without matches, but you know that the match is somewhere so you refuse to throw the sock away with the hope that the other one will turn up eventually.  When the other one does turn up, you can’t find the first one and the cycle starts all over again.  Plus, there are seven people in my family and we all wear socks which means that there are 14 individual socks being worn every day.  That is 98 individual socks being worn every week.  As my 9-year-old self would have said, that’s a “honkin’ butt-load” of socks.

There are problems associated with throwing them all in one big basket, too.  Like the fact that we now need two baskets to accommodate all of our socks.  Or how hard it is find the socks that we need in the sock basket every morning.  Because of this, there have been some days when I have worn socks that didn’t quite match.  This wasn’t a problem for me; I learned years ago that it is perfectly acceptable to match socks by thickness instead of color. 

I realize that doing the tedious work on the front-end saves a great deal of aggravation on the back-end, but it’s just not worth it.  Not when you’re matching socks, at least.  It is definitely worth it in other areas.

Reading the Bible can be tedious with all the begats and stories of people with names so long that it’s a wonder they ever got out of kindergarten.  “You can’t be passed to the first grade until you can spell your name, Chushanrishathaim.  Sorry.” 

Praying can be tedious.  You’re tired, there are a million other things on your mind, and there’s a leftover Krsytal hamburger in the refrigerator that is calling your name , but you remember that you promised a coworker that you would pray for his wife’s cousin’s sister-in-law’s mother’s hairdresser’s father who has an in-grown toenail.  So you pray.

Seeking to live like Jesus can be tedious.  You want to tell that guy who always one-ups you, talks down to you, and who apparently thinks that being a jerk is his spiritual gift what you really think of him.  Then you remember what Jesus said about grace and mercy and all those other wonderful things that are hard to put into practice in real life and you stop short of verbally assaulting him. 

These things can be tedious, but they are important.  They’re important because when we do them we are being transformed more into the likeness of Christ.  Sometimes slowly, sometimes rapidly, but the change is occurring.  It’s not occurring because we are good, but because we are bowing our knee to His authority and doing those things the he says are good for us.

Tedious activities are often not worth the trouble.  Tedious activities that honor the Savior are always worth the trouble.  Even when they don’t always feel like it.

(Do you have a sock basket?  Are there other things that are tedious, yet worth it?  Share away!)

8 thoughts on “The Tedious Things are Worth It (Sometimes)

  1. Waiting on God can be tedious, but it’s definitely worth it in the end. Praying and waiting for a change in your situation can be tedious, but when it happens it’s amazing.

  2. I gave up the sock basket, too. My kids have big feet – so, we can all share socks now, pretty much. It rocks.

    As for the rest, blogging is sometimes tedious. I set a schedule for myself, and trying to find something to write about that 1) I care about, 2) adheres to the themes of my blog and 3) magnify God is a challenge and I think about quitting, but it’s worth it when I get an email from someone I didn’t know READ my blog, and say how much it meant to them.

    • I agree with blogging being tedious at times. I enjoy doing it, but struggle on occasion trying to find my “voice.” It’s worth it, though, because I know that I am becoming better through it and I believe that it helps others, at least a little.

  3. “You can’t be passed to the first grade until you can spell your name, Chushanrishathaim. Sorry.”

    That was the funniest thing ever this morning, and it made me laugh out loud! I guess it’s because I work at a preschool, haha…

    Jonathan and I had a running sock basket for our entire first year and a half of marriage (almost). Back before Christmas we were “Spring-cleaning” our house–the kind that only gets done once a year, ya know. Dusting, Goodwill-bag collecting, shuffling around furniture and decorations, etc. One of these tasks included tackling our sock basket. We had the same problem of mismatched socks, lost socks, finding socks that matched in the morning, etc….until now! We matched every single sock in the basket (minus a few that are still missing), and things go so much more smoothly in the mornings! Jonathan has his sock drawer and knows which socks are his; I have my sock drawer and know which socks are mine. I know that if I open my “white sock drawer” (yes, I even have the white and colored socks separated into different drawers!), I can blindly grab a random pair out, confident that they match! It’s actually a stress-relief! And when a load of clean laundry is finished, granted it may take a couple days to get to, those socks get folded and placed in their respective drawers too! It’s an extra step we didn’t have before, but much less stressful when we’re trying to get ready!

    Go ahead, give it a try! And I have my own OCD system of matching socks; I won’t even let Jonathan help me. Separate whites and coloreds first. Set aside one pile. Then separate into piles of all whites, the ones with gray heels and toes, and the ones with all gray at the bottom. Then separate those piles into ankle height: long, short, and medium. Then I go by texture (is the ankle band thick with defined texture, or is the texture more dense?). Then, if there is still ambiguity, I go by length. Usually by then mine are all matched! Continue in the same way with the other piles.

    Told you I’m OCD! 🙂

Leave a Reply

