A Dream to Be Thankful For

I am thankful that one of my oldest daughter’s best friends at school is an African-American girl.  She talks about her often, but the color of her skin has never been mentioned.

I am thankful that my children play with children of all races without prejudice.  They do not care about the skin color of those they play with; they only care about having fun with whoever is available.

I am thankful that I do not hear many racists statements anymore from professing Christians.  It may be because they have changed.  It may be because they know that response they get out of me will not be pleasant.  Either way, it is happening less and I am thankful.

I plan on getting back to blogging like normal tomorrow, but today I simply want to express my gratitude for Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.  He died nine years before I was born.  I never met him or heard him speak in person.  Sadly, I don’t know as much about him as I would like.  But I know that he had a dream that he shared with the world.

I am thankful.

8 thoughts on “A Dream to Be Thankful For

  1. I found this out on Monday, but my wife’s dad (who I think was in college at the time in DC) was at the March on Washington and heard Dr. King’s “I Have a Dream” speech. I’m anxious to ask him about it sometime.

    Enjoyed this post – I’m thankful as well. Thankful that my interracial children, like I have, will one day learn some powerful truths from this great man.

Leave a Reply

