It’s Okay to Smile

I like to smile.  Laughing is even better.  Here are 3 recent occurrences that caused me do both.

1.  I got checked out by a guy wearing make-up at a used bookstore last week.  And by “checked out,” I mean that he was the cashier.  He was very cordial and his foundation had been expertly applied, but I did feel a little awkward.  It could have been even more awkward.  I could have purchased a book about Biblical manhood.  Yeah–that would have been worse than the time that I announced my intention to part ways with a former church-member who wore a toupee by saying “I guess it’s time for me to get out of your hair.”  Did that really happen?  Yes.  Yes it did.

2.  When asked why we were laughing so much one afternoon this week, my co-worker said that it was because we get a little goofy during that time of day.  As I often do, I said the first thing that popped into my mind–“It’s better to get a little goofy than it is to get a little Pluto because that would entail being naked and unable to talk.”  In case you are wondering, I often get strange looks from my co-workers.

3.  We go to our local McDonald’s far too often.  To make it more personally enjoyable I have acquainted myself with several of the employees.  A couple of weeks ago, there was a new guy running the cash register who featured a variety of tattoos on both of his arms.  The one that drew my attention was a series of numbers inside of a rectangle.  I asked him what the numbers meant.  he laughed and said, “Well–when my dog got spayed they tattooed these numbers on her belly so I got a matching tattoo because I love my dog.”  Two thoughts: 1) I should probably quit asking so many questions and 2) Compared to this guy, we are all terrible pet owners.

I realize that this isn’t like one of my regular posts.  There is not a big, important lesson to learn.  There are very few (if any) semi-laugh-out-loud phrases.  There is just this:

It’s okay to smile at the silliness that surrounds us.  More than that, it is good for us.

 A cheerful heart is good medicine,
   but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.
Proverbs 17:22

You might have a crushed spirit.  You do not have to stay this way.  There are plenty of things with the ability to elicit  a smile or a laugh. 

You just have to be looking for them.

(Do you have funny story to share? Something that happened recently? Something that happened years ago? Has something crushed your spirit? Share away!)

42 thoughts on “It’s Okay to Smile

  1. The McDonald’s scene is amazing. And it doesn’t surprise me at all. I ran a a store through college.

    And the more I think about it; what’s wrong with being naked and not talking?

  2. I laugh out loud, inappropriately, often enough that people are used to it I think.

    The problem is my over active imagination entertains itself in some of the boring situations I’m presented with by going rogue and taking little Scrubs-esque adventures. Except instead of a hospital, it usually happens somewhere like Sunday School. My bad.

  3. Yeah, when the Chickfila welcome lady says, “Where have you been?! I haven’t seen you guys since last week!”….. I have to laugh. And then buy more chicken.

    • I’d be okay with Chickfila on a regular basis, thge McDonald’s is not on their level. And never will be. I feel ashamed to even compare the two.
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  4. When I was single there were 3 girls together. I was a sales person working at the Gap. One of the girls had beautiful green eyes. She was beautiful. I told my friend, “watch me go and make this girl blush”.

    I approach the girls, tapped the middle one and while she was turning around, I said, “I’m sorry to bother you, but I just wanted to tell you that you have beautiful eyes”. When she turned around fully, I tapped the wrong girl. She had brown eyes. She replied, “don’t you mean my friend” as she pointed at the beautiful green eyed girl. Quickly, I tried to justify my mistake, I said, “no, I mean you, I melt for gorgeous brown eyes”. They both walked away laughing at me.

    I laughed too. It was funny. I like to laugh, even at my expense.

  5. I love to laugh…spiritual gift, yes I think so. Anyways, as the father of seven, things that “dad says” get retold as tales of lore…such as…

    I was having a loud “discussion” with my son Mike who got caught in a lie and I said…”If you’re going to lie to me at least be sincere about it!”

    Yes, we both started laughing…..

  6. At work (at the foot doctor’s), I was explaining to an older gentleman patient about an exfolitating lotion that we had. After I was done my explaination, the man, who apparently is hard of hearing said, “That sounds like good exhilarating lotion!” I couldn’t help it, I laughed pretty hard. I wanted to tell him, “we don’t sell that kind of lotion here.”

    It makes the day go a whole lot better when you can joke around with those you work with! Thanks for bringing a smile to my face today!

  7. “Two thoughts: 1) I should probably quit asking so many questions and 2) Compared to this guy, we are all terrible pet owners.”

    HUH -larious.

  8. I noticed a fellow with make-up on at a local restaurant. Even mentioned to my hubby that I wasn’t quite sure what to think — and for SURE didn’t know what to say — except that it felt a bit uncomfortable to be around a guy who has on more make-up than I wear.. He had done a great job with it, though, gotta give the guy props.

  9. Laughing is good. And I am laughing at your blog post, and the comments! Thanks, because I was suffering from a sort of crushed spirit accompanied by a pesky case of lingering theological doubt. The tattoo story – wow. And the guy wearing makeup – was it like Cap’n Jack Sparrow makeup? That’s the only guy I’ve ever seen wearing makeup.

    • No–his make-up was very neatly applied and looked exactly like what most women might wear. And his fingernails were painted, too. Glad he only checked me out one way.

      And I’m glad that this helped some. Having a crushed spirit is tough. “Keep on keepin’ on.”–Joe Dirt
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

      • Yes–that is what I was trying to say about the guy that “checked me out,” but didn’t have the right words. Except I think my guy may have actually been a consultant.

  10. Unfortunately, I live in Seattle which is about as far as you can get from a Chick-fil-A. Curses!!

    You have such a great writing style. Quite a natural storytelling voice.

    I plan on writing a SMILE post next week so will link to your post if that’s alright.

    • Absolutely! And thanks. It might be because I’m odd.

      And if there isn’t a Chickfila there you should probably consider moving. It IS that good.
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  11. I love to laugh Matt. In fact, I think sometimes, to be honest, I irritate my wife because I love to joke and laugh (and she does not think I am funny sometimes). Can’t figure that out yet. 🙂 Keep laughing. Makes people wonder what in the world is going on in your head.

    • My wife has heard some of my jokes and sayings so often that she has become slightly immune. But I get a few laughs from her everyday, so I don’t complain 🙂
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Leave a Reply

