Things That Should Never Be Yellow

Yellow is a fine color for a banana.  In fact, I refuse to eat bananas that are any other color.  Some claim that green bananas are best and there are some who would rather have bananas that are brown.  If these people aren’t communists, they’re at least fascists.  Or maybe they just hate their taste buds.  The only way that I will eat a brown banana is if it is brown by virtue of being dipped in chocolate.  Or if there are brown bananas in banana pudding.  No other exceptions.

While yellow is a fine color for a banana, there are others things that should never be yellow (in my opinion).  Here are a few:

1.  Snow that you plan on eating.  Let me give a little bit of good advice as simply as I can: Don’t eat yellow snow!  Could it be lemon flavoring?  No, it isn’t lemon flavoring.  Stay away from it.  Unless you like the taste of urine.  If so, remind me to never eat anything that you cook.  Ever. 

2.  Vehicles.  A yellow vehicle says, “Hey! Look at me–LOOK AT ME!”  This is fine when the vehicle is nice and new, but vehicles do not stay nice and new.  And if you keep it long enough you will eventually be known as the person with the vehicle that looks jaundiced.  As an aside, the word “vehicle” is a strange word to say inside of your own head over and over.  Sort of like the word “manipulative.”

3.  Bellies.  A coward is known as someone with a yellow belly or as someone who is a yellow belly.  How did this get started?  Does the color yellow have less influential lobbyists working on its behalf than the other colors?  Was yellow absent at the meeting when colors got assigned to various negative attributes?  Green got envy, blue got depressed, red got rage, and yellow got cowardly.  Is that how it happened?  Probably.

4.  Cake.  Okay, I’m just making sure you’re paying attention with this one.  Every cake should be yellow.  With chocolate icing.  Nearby.  On a plate. 

Contrary to what you might think, I don’t have anything against the color yellow.  If I come across as anti-yellow, I am sorry.  This just isn’t true.  Kept in its proper context, yellow is fine and serves it’s purpose.

The same is true for our emotions. 

There is nothing wrong with being emotional; we were created with emotions by God who expresses emotion.  Kept in their proper context, emotions are fine and they serve an important purpose.  It is when they overrule everything else that they can be detrimental.

 Like a city whose walls are broken through
   is a person who lacks self-control.
Proverbs 25:28

Anger, sadness, frustration, and fear all have their place as do happiness and feelings of love.  But if we do not control our emotions, our lives will be like a city whose walls are broken down. 

Unprotected.

Unsafe.

Yellow must be kept in check or it will threaten to take over; the same is true for our emotions.  A good thing can become a bad thing if left unchecked.  And this can happen far more quickly than we realize.

(What else should never be yellow?  When was the last time your emotions got the best of you?  How do you keep your emotions under control?  Share away!)

 

33 thoughts on “Things That Should Never Be Yellow

  1. You went there with jaundiced cars. That had me rolling.

    My wife would like to get rid of my yellow-ish arm-pit undershirts. Yeah, stank nasty. But they’re all mine!

  2. I had to chuckle through the whole thing Matt. Your sense of humor is, well… 🙂 I would add yellow fingers and the inside of cars that have the brown-tinted yellow from smoking. Now that is disgusting!! And they don’t even know it.

  3. This coming from a blog whose whole layout is yellow? Interesting. 🙂

    You forgot to mention underwear. Yellow in the front and brown in the back.

  4. They say that yellow dye number five is bad for guys to drink. I don’t know who “they” are but they are influential because everybody says it. I don’t care! I love my Mt. Dew and it’s yellow dye number five.

  5. My Dad has a bright yellow T-Bucket!! I’ve never thought jaundiced, but maybe it gets a pass on the yellow b/c of the grandfather clause.

    Drinks in general shouldn’t be yellow- I even have to drink my lemonade pink. Drinking yellow liquids is gross.

  6. I have to disagree (slightly) on the yellow vehicle. When I was in high school my dream car was a 1969 SuperBeetle in lemon yellow with white interior. To this day I can’t see a yellow beetle without feeling happy. I agree with you about all other yellow cars though.

  7. I just kept thinking of yellow journalism. Journalism should not be yellow.

    But, I definitely agree on keeping our emotions in check. It’s so easy to blame something on “my emotions”. But, God doesn’t let that excuse fly.

  8. I swear, if I didn’t know better I would think you went to seminary with my pastor. Y’all both use such unlikely object lessons that have such sticking power. Just great.

Leave a Reply

