A Little About Me and a Little About You

I’ve been missing you.  And it’s been all my fault.

One of the pleasures of my life in recent months has been getting to know many of you by reading your blogs, commenting, and being a part of an awesome and encouraging on-line family.  Lately, I’ve not been a very good family member.  I know that I have only been a slacker for a couple of weeks, but a couple of weeks feels a lot longer when you haven’t been able to do something that you really enjoy.

Many of you know that I am a bivocational senior pastor with a full-time “secular” job, 5 young kids, and a wife that I adore.  Most of you don’t know that since January my wife has been going to school in hopes of becoming an EMT.  This means that my parenting/household responsibilities have increased exponentially, especially now that baseball/softball practices are in full swing.  Laundry must be done, my kids’ homework must be done, and my family needs more of my attention.

So, I’ve been missing you.

But I’ve also been quite amazed by you.

Even in the midst of my slacking, you have been faithful to read and comment here.  For that I am grateful.  And I hope that I will soon get back to my normal reading and commenting ways.

But…..ENOUGH about me; I also want to learn a little about you through this post.  Below are some questions that you probably have never been asked before. 

1.  Who was your least favorite Beverly Hills, 90210 character?  Why?

2.  Your bologna may have a first name of O-S-C-A-R and a second name of M-A-Y-E-R, but what would be a more realistic brand-name for bologna?

3.  Larry the Cable Guy’s catch-phrase is “Get ‘Er Done!”  What would your redneck catch-phrase be?

4.  Cyndi Lauper says that girls just want to have fun.  What do duck-billed platypusses (platypi?)  just want to have?

5.  If I owned a plumbing company, the name and slogan would be “Cannon Plumbing: Half as good for half the price!”  What would be the name and slogan of your plumbing company?

6.  Be honest–When the Chilean Miners were rescued, did you think most of them looked like one of the Super Mario Brothers?

7.   Forget about which 3 historical figures you would most like to have a conversation with–are there any that you would like Chuck Norris to round-house kick?

Okay–that’s it.  Share away!

38 thoughts on “A Little About Me and a Little About You

  1. I’m too tired to go there today, but just wanted to say hi. Met you through Alise. Looking forward to reading more. Have a great Monday.

  2. I just started reading your blog this month and I’ve been enjoying your thoughts. Thanks for the laugh over these questions. 🙂

    1. My parents were hippies and raised me without TV, so I have never seen a single episode of Beverly Hills 90210.

    2. Cat Guts! Seriously, I love bologna, but don’t look too closely at the wrapper…

    3. Duuuuuude. Dude. DUDE. I say that too often anyway.

    4. I think possibly platypuses want to have a drink after a long day and stretch out on the couch while someone else washes the dishes, does the homework, and/or pays the bills. At least, that’s what I’d want. What I get is no drinking (I’m at a conservative school that bans it), lots of homework, chores, and searching for a job. Oh well, life’s tough. 😉

    5. I don’t think I’m qualified to own a plumbing company since I leak tears more often than I’d like to admit, my car currently has a puddle of water in it from an unidentified leak, and my toilet sometimes runs for no reason. So, check back later, mmmkay?

    6. See my answer to #1 — I never had the pleasure of playing Super Mario Brothers. But I did think the rescued miners looked like superheroes, so does that count?

    7. I’m getting my BA in history and I have a bad case of senioritis at this point, so I’d pretty much like Chuck Norris to roundhouse kick anyone I’ve ever had to write a paper about. President Truman, Galileo, and Judas Iscariot can all get in line. And Judas would deserve it.

  3. 1. Andrea – not because she was particularly interesting, but because she was a geek like me

    2. crap on a cracker

    3. I prefer to distance myself from my redneck roots

    4. Duck-billed platypuses just want to thwart Dr Doofenschmirtz.

    5. AAAAA Plumbing: First in nothing but the Phone Book

    6. yes

    7. Chuck Norris could go back in time and kick some sense into Andrew Jackson for that whole Trail of Tears business

  4. 1. All of them. I managed not to see a single episode of that show, quite on purpose.

    2. Bologna: The Other Round Meat. That’s ad campaign gold right there.

    3. Nothing clever comes to mind right now. This is likely due to the generous person who gave me their cold over the weekend.

    4. I’m going to say “teeth”. I also did not know, until looking up a picture to be sure they didn’t already have teeth, that male platypuses have venomous stingers.

    5. Sewer Sages: We’ve never been eaten by a grue

    6. Can’t say that thought occured to me, but it is an interesting thought.

    7. I’m going to go with Charles Darwin, Karl Marx, and Dr. Loveless. What, Wild Wild West isn’t a historical documentary?

  5. 1. never watched it.

    2. V-O-M-I-T (I tried to keep in to 5 letters to stay with the theme. Just use mine instead of M-A-Y-E-R. Can you tell I don’t eat or like it?

    3. “Well, cut that cheek off.” (chew in cheek)

    4. Someone to love & understand their “uniqueness.’

    5. “Call Someone Else Plumbing” (cuz you don’t want me to do it)

    6. Sorry no recognizo.

    7. Chop the snake in half with his cowboy boots in the Garden.

  6. 1. Who was your least favorite Beverly Hills, 90210 character? Why?

    Dylan. Because he was getting with Brenda & I wanted to get with Brenda.

    2. Your bologna may have a first name of O-S-C-A-R and a second name of M-A-Y-E-R, but what would be a more realistic brand-name for bologna?

    C-R-A-P

    3. Larry the Cable Guy’s catch-phrase is “Get ‘Er Done!” What would your redneck catch-phrase be?

    “It was the chair!”

    4. Cyndi Lauper says that girls just want to have fun. What do duck-billed platypusses (platypi?) just want to have?

    Self respect.

    5. If I owned a plumbing company, the name and slogan would be “Cannon Plumbing: Half as good for half the price!” What would be the name and slogan of your plumbing company?

    Opening the flow when you gotta go!

    6. Be honest–When the Chilean Miners were rescued, did you think most of them looked like one of the Super Mario Brothers?

    Well, it’s better than looking like Bowser, right?

    7. Forget about which 3 historical figures you would most like to have a conversation with–are there any that you would like Chuck Norris to round-house kick?

    Hitler, Pol Pot and whoever invented reality TV shows

  7. 1. I have a fave Beverly hillbillies character. . . . Granny. Does that count?
    2. Bologna. . . “The poor man’s steak!”
    3. “Scoot and Toot!”
    4. Nose Job
    5. “If a plunger can fix it. .. I’m your man!”
    6. Chef-Boy-R-Dee actually
    7. William Techuseh Sherman

  8. 1. I just googled it, and supposedly this show ran until 2000. Really? Who the crap was watching it those last 5 years? Not me.

    2. Meatmasharoni.

    3. Get ‘im done?

    4. World peace between ducks and beavers.

    5. Craptastic Crafters.

    6. If I’m being honest, I didn’t watch even a minute of the media coverage. My bad.

    7. Anyone who watched 90210 those last few years.

  9. 1. Brandon – cause he was a pretty good kid, and I was a pretty good kid.
    2. Bologna shouldn’t even exist. It’s just nasty.
    3. Shotguns and whistlesticks
    4. A nose job
    5. We’re Number 1 in the Number 2 business.
    6. Totally
    7. Hitler, Any serial killer, whoever invented Pokemon

  10. 1.  Jason Priestly. Nobody likes a “pretty boy”.
    2.  Mistery Meat
    3. You wanna fight? Why don’t you stick your head up my butt and fight for air.
    4.  lips.
    5.  the tunnel – making sense of your tunnel – anus not included.
    6.  No. That makes you .08% less spiritual in my eyes. 🙂
    7.   Christopher Columbus. Just because that would be a cool sight.
    Josephus, Just because he can write down that Chuck kicked him in biblical historical days
    Hitler, well, because he was an ass (donkey).

  11. 1. Didn’t watch it, but my wife has seen every episode. I’d say Brandon b/c that’s the only name I can remember.

    2. Fake Meat.

    3. Can’t think of anything…. 😦

    4. Cyndi Lauper says that girls just want to have fun. What do duck-billed platypusses (platypi?) just want to have?

    5. The Uncloggers: When Big Is Just Too Big

    6. Yes.

    7. Hitler. Geraldo. Vanilli.

  12. 1. Never watched it, but always had a dislike for those goofy sideburns. Especially on the guys.
    2. You’re Full Of
    3. “Well that just dills my pickle.”
    4. Weapons of mass destruction.
    5. Pipe Dreams – We get rid of your plumbing nightmares.
    6. So THAT’S why they weren’t jumping when I pressed the button on my controller…
    7. That guy who kept telling everybody not to squeeze the Charmin.

  13. Dang, I got here really late. I kinda wrote a post like this recently 🙂 http://www.mohan37.com/?p=5280

    1) Brendan of course. he was the cool and collected one. I wanted to be like him
    2) Balaam’s
    3) Stank it up!
    4) A well-defined family tree.
    5) Cracked Rear View
    6) Yes
    7) Harriet Tubman, Gandhi, and Albert Einstein. Or maybe Hitler, Stalin, and Mao.

  14. Oh my word. I can’t see how you do all you do. And it must have taken you forever to come up with those questions.

    1. I never saw Beverly Hills 90210. Well, just enough to not let my kids watch it.

    2. N-O-T M-E-A-T

    3. Whip it on ’em

    4. Some real ears.

    5. King’s Plumbing–We reign over pipes.

    6. Umm, no.

    7. Whoever developed M&M’s. I’d weigh less if it weren’t for him.

Leave a Reply

