Learning from Rufus

This DVD came  home from school with each of my three boys.  I realize that dog bites are serious and that many children are harmed every year by them.  My wife and I have talked to our kids regularly about how to act and react around both familiar and unfamiliar animals.  So, I appreciate the fact that these were sent home to help supplement what we have already been teaching.

But when I saw the cover, I laughed. 

Rufus–a dog–is going to teach kids how to avoid getting bit by—A DOG!

You know what this is like, right?  It’s like learning how….

…to not sound obnoxious from Gilbert Gottfried.

…to resolve disputes without fighting from Popeye.

…to not overuse hyperbole from Donald Trump.

…to win a football game against an SEC team from THE Ohio State University.

…to not remove your sunglasses in an overly dramatic fashion from Horatio Caine.

…to announce an important decision from Lebron James.

…to take a hint from Moammar Gadhafi.

…to catch a road runner from Wile E. Coyote.

…to be subtle from a chihuahua.

…to live a moral life from MTV.

I know, I know–I shouldn’t be so hard on poor ‘ole Rufus.  He probably does a fine job of teaching kids how to avoid dog bites.  I guess I have grown leery of trying to learn lessons from those who aren’t qualified to teach them.

Which is one more reason why I love Jesus.

For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses,
but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin.
Hebrews 4:15

There are some that are looked to for guidance that absolutely have no business guiding anyone.

But Jesus is immensely qualified to teach us, to lead us, to be our Lord.

Some believe that experience is the best teacher.  They are wrong. 

Jesus is the best teacher.

And He always will be.

(How are you with analogies?  What is a dog teaching kids how not to get bit by a dog like to you?  What has Jesus taught you recently?  Share away?

41 thoughts on “Learning from Rufus

  1. I think the following is related…at least a distant cousin. It reminded me of old McDonald’s commercials where chicken nuggets and cheeseburgers could talk and sing. I don’t want to eat something if it can talk and sing. I want to be friends with it.

  2. I couldn’t see where you were goin’ with that at first, but you made your point beautifully at the end. That’s so true. Somethin’ I love about Jesus!

    And I agree. That is a very funny thing to be getting from school.

  3. A buddy of mine said he’d rather learn from his mistakes than enter accountability. How my heart breaks for him.

    You are right, Matt – Jesus is the best teacher. Not experience.Proverbs 14:12 comes to mind here.

Leave a Reply

