Major Blog Changes

I have now published over 400 blog posts; the one you are now reading is #402.  As a result of this milestone I have decided that a major change is in order. 

Prior to today, many of you have tuned in here each weekday to read a mostly humorous post.  Sure, there is normally a spiritual application at the end, but the majority of each post has been devoted to silliness.  After over 400 posts like this I believe that it is time that my blog “grew up.”

It is time to get serious.

There is only one problem–I am not sure what my new focus should be.  The number of serious issues that I could devote this blog to is staggering.  Frankly, I’m tired of thinking about it.   This is where you come in.  Maybe you can help me make a decision.

Here are a few of the possibilities that I have been pondering; tell me what you think.

1.  Jay Leno’s chin.  His chin has mesmerized  my imagination for years.  How did it get to be so big?  Can it be seen from outer space?  What  could it be used for?  I could do a series of posts about things that are smaller than his chin. Rhode Island, for instance. 

2.  Tomax and Xamot.  Also known as the Crimson Twins, they are the identical mirror twin brothers who co-lead Cobra’s elite troops (the Crimson Guard) in the G.I. Joe universe.  And they are fascinating.  They share a connection that is often referred to as the “Corsican Syndrome” that enables them to finish each others sentences and feel each others pain.  For those of you wondering if I really am a nerd–the answer is YES!  How much more evidence do you need?

3.  Cooking with Pop-Tarts.  Food blogs are interesting; food blogs featuring Pop-Tarts would be a-mazing.  Pop-Tart Loaf.  Kung Pao Pop-Tarts.  Pop-Tart Lasagna.  Pop-Tarts Au Gratin.  The possibilities are endless.  And delicious.

4.  Evil-looking ostriches.  You don’t think ostriches look evil?   Think again:

I’ll have trouble sleeping the rest of the month

On second thought…..

Maybe I don’t need to make any changes at all.

Maybe my blog is fine just the way it is.

Maybe I don’t need to shake things up.

Maybe you don’t either.

Be still, and know that I am God:
I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.
Psalm 46:10

It seems that a lot of the people I am around are thinking about making big changes in their lives.  This isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  Unless they are supposed to be standing still.

The big changes are exciting.  The big changes get our juices flowing.  The big changes get the most attention.

But sometimes we need to simply be still and know that He is God.

Maybe that is what you need to do.

Think about it. 

And sorry about that ostrich picture.  That was just wrong.

(What are some other things that you think I should focus on?  What else is small than Jay Leno’s chin?  Have you ever seen a worse picture of an ostrich?  Have you ever made a change when you should  have stood still?  Share away!)

68 thoughts on “Major Blog Changes

  1. Putting my foot in my mouth is a change I did once, but standing still while doing it was at best, the puttiest thing I ever tried to do…

  2. There’s no way I could do a serious-only blog, just like there’s no way I could do a funny-only blog. It’s just not who I am. And I don’t think it’s who you are, either. Keep doin’ it big, homes.

  3. You could always have a blog devoted to NASCAR. You can devote your time telling people how to stop going in circles. In fact, you can even rename your blog “The Art of Going in Circles.” Ostrich? Have you ever seen some of those military dog photos with saliva dripping? Now THAT is scary!!

  4. You had me worried for a minute there! I was all kinds of formulating an advice-filled comment in my head about how you shouldn’t chaaaange! 🙂

      • Then there you go man. Let me just say that I love all of your stuff. And by all I mean your poetry, funny, and serious stuff. Just do what you are led to do man.

        • Thanks, Michael. I appreciate you and your continual kind words of encouragement. You may need to consider being a pastor 🙂

          And I agree–I’ve read stuff that you have probably read about having a central focus. I understand where they are coming from, but I prefer to just write what I am led to write. Even if it is a little silly sometimes.

  5. Phew! I was worried for a second that your blog was going to turn into this uber serious, gonna lay out a daily sermon type of blog. I think your posts are brilliant – and always make me laugh. And think. Glad you’re sticking to what you’re already amazing at!

  6. I don’t want to be a party-pooper because I love your humorous posts… but I think you got it in you man, to be a great writer.

    One that tells stories that shake me to my core.

    Ones that make me laugh.

    Then cry.

    Don’t hush the winds of change. When you feel God blowing those sweet breezes at you, go with it. Funny one day. Serious the next. Whatever winds are blowing. 🙂

    I like you no matter what you do.

    #awkwardtendermoment

    • Thanks, Duane. Seriously. And it’s okay to have an awkward tender moment with another guy–as long as it is on the internet and not in person.

      Good advice, too. I appreciate it.

  7. you’re right – we do need to focus on weighty issues like evil ostriches – and if that gets stale, evil emus, move on to evil turkeys and finally evil chickens – kill them all!

    otherwise, keep doin’ what you do, because it’s good stuff

  8. I have to admit, a little piece of me died inside when you said you were going to change things up over here. Glad that you turned it around in the end. My opinion? Don’t change anything.

    That ostrich is crazy.

  9. Dude that thing is hideous (the animal, not your serious theme). 🙂

    I like the flow of your blog. It’s perfect. But, you can do whatever you want.

    Oh wait, maybe you can blog about hello kitty.

  10. I thought you were serious at first. ;)… You could try your hand in a gardening blog… How to plant good seed on good soil. How to remove the weeds from your life. There’s thistles among the good grain…

    And what mind thinks of putting ostriches in a blog post? lol

  11. Nice. That ostrich is scary. Did you type evil looking ostrich in google? lol.

    Maybe you can talk about how your blog has a fresh new lemon scent? 🙂

    • So several people beat me to the Pop-Tarts thing. Have any links about Jay Leno’s chin?

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Ann. Good to see you around here again!

  12. Man after I read this I made my wife read it. What you said there at the end is very applicable to us right now. “Sometimes we simply need to be still and know that He is God.” Amen! We have been thinking about making some big changes lately and have been working on it to the point that we are both stressed out and almost ready to give up. Thanks for the reminder to just be still and let God do His thing!

    • Glad this helped some, brother. We’ve been in the same place before. And messed things up through impatience. Will be praying for you.
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  13. Who knew that ostriches had such a human looking teeth? That is seriously creepy. Do other birds have teeth like that!? I would hate to meet that guy in an alley.

    I’m very happy you’re not changing your blog! But, it could use a little feminine touch, ya know, a little pink ribbon or lace doily, a scented candle. Might make the place a little more welcoming.

    • Yeah–that’s a terribly disturbing picture.

      As for a feminine touch, I think I like it. As long as the candles smell like chicken-n-dumplins. 🙂
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  14. Hey, friend, you really got me going for a minute! I really should know better though–such a kidder. You know I love your writing. I’ll always be watching for that book someday… My favorite blogs from the past are your stories (especially the one about your Dad dropping you on your head!) and would love to see some more. From someone who has endured big change recently, it is nice to be able to finally be still and know. He has really been with us through all of this!

    • Hey Meteor! Glad you are doing well. God is surely with us in times of change and discouragement.

      It makes me feel good that you liked the story about me being dropped on my head 🙂

      We miss you!
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  15. Just waned to say love your blog. I think your commets are funny, and I love are morals. I actually have did instead of standing still. Wish I would have waited on God.:(

    • Thank you so much! I’ve been through those times, too–where I have acted when everything would have worked out if would have just waited. Of course I have also been through opposite times. Discernment is important. So are candy bars 🙂
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  16. Please keep your blog silly. There are enough people trying to be Billy Graham in this so called “Christian Community”. It gets old. Keep it real. Be who you are.

Leave a Reply

