Weird Giftings

Welcome to Day #2 of Guest Post-A-Palooza! Today’s guest blogger is Michael Perkins who tries to showcase the brilliance of God through his writing at Untitled. Michael is a husband, father, and pastor of  Natchitoches Church of the Nazarene. He has the ability to grow an awesome beard and claims to have a big head (but I’m certain mine is bigger). Check out this post about weird gifts, head over to his blog to read more of his writing, and follow him on Twitter!

Weird Giftings

Sometimes I can be a tad bit immature.

Okay, actually I can be really immature.  I often get in trouble with my wife for thinking that things such as farting and belching are funny. 

And I’m proud/ashamed to say that my son (6) shares my love of potty humor.

In fact he can hang with the best of them.

The other day he was sitting on the couch and let out a booming fart. 

So what happens?

April blames me for it.

But here’s the thing; I was in the other room.  I wasn’t even with Ethan. 

Apparently, he not only has the gift of farting like a man, but he has the ability to throw his farts like a ventriloquist. 

It really is kind of amazing.

James 1:17 says, “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above,”

We tend to view things such as speaking, writing, and break dancing as normal gifts.  But what about the other ones?  What about the ones that may be a little weird? 

Don’t they count too?

What weird gift do you have?

46 thoughts on “Weird Giftings

  1. I can wiggle my eyes (they vibrate back and forth). I used this gift in middle school to meet new friends at my new school. It was a way for me to get my foot in the door.

  2. The phantom fart will always get you. That’s quite a talent!

    People really underestimate my gleeking abilities. I’m confident that it will save someone’s life one day.

  3. A fartriloquist eh? Pretty special gift that is….I do a pretty good
    imitation of Bob Dylan which also goes along with your son’s gift…

    “The answer my friend is blowing the wind…”

    Nuff said!

  4. I can’t break dance, but I can non-break dance like it’s nobodies business. I think because of my extreme whiteness (are people from WV allowed to do anything other than line dancing?) most people are super surprised when I shake it like a polaroid picture.

    • I’m from Ohio, but close to Huntington, WV, so I know what you mean. I’m trying to come back with a witty comment but I cannot beat the Oukast reference.

  5. I can snap my toes like I can snap my fingers. Also, I use my feet and toes to pick things up, hold things…okay that’s enough. I won’t say any more. Just I have crazy feet that can do useful things.

  6. I start burping the alphabet, once I get past M, I ended by farting the rest of it. It’s a great skill. I even got an invite to become an X-man because of this “mutant” power. I declined.

  7. I’d have to say that it is a fine line between my gift being a blessing and/or a curse.

    Sometimes I can’t not see certain things that I really would rather not have to see to begin with.

    However, on a lighter note, I have physical memory down to a science. When I do an action two or three times, I got it down.

  8. Ha! This is awesome. My tongue can touch my nose and my chin, though obviously not at the same time. I can also tie a cherry stem with my tongue. Last but not least, my left thumb is double jointed, which strangely grosses people out. I think it’s cool!

  9. So…I don’t think mine is super weird like farting, burping, etc.

    But I make great cd’s for people…they sure seem to love my music selection. Is that gift? 🙂

  10. Cindy, my comment disappeared too.

    I don’t have any talents…unless Cindy’s eye crossed fish face counts…because I do that too (proof on facebook, just ask Cindy, lol)

Leave a Reply

