Football Tag

Welcome to Day #3 of Guest Post-A-Palooza! Today’s guest blogger is Chad Jones who writes about life, faith, culture, and more at Randomly Chad. He resides in Arizona with his wife, two kids, and a bunch of other folks who must enjoy being way too hot. Chad’s a follower of Jesus, a great encourager, and a nerd just like me. Check out this post about truth and consequences, leave a comment, head over to his blog to read more of his writing, and follow him on Twitter!

Football Tag

A few weeks ago, my son and his friend were playing tag. This in itself is not noteworthy–tag is a very common game, played daily all over the world by young and old alike.

It’s not that they were playing tag that’s of note, but the kind of tag that is: football tag. You might ask what’s special about that? I’ll tell you: instead of merely playing catch with the football, which is I guess blasé these days, they were “tagging” each other with it! As in beaning one another, throwing it as hard as they each respectively could at the other’s body parts!

Football tag!

As a dad, at the time, I guess I wasn’t overly concerned (and truly I didn’t find out until later), because in all honesty, I did worse as a kid (things my son will never know). I mean in one sense it was a (somewhat) creative game, and they were playing outside–instead of on the XBox–on a beautifully cool spring day.

So the football tag itself, despite a potential for injury, didn’t really concern me. But what happened later–that did.

In a big way.

You see, apparently at some point during the game when it was my son’s turn to throw, his friend decided he didn’t particularly want to be hit. So he changed the rules…

By picking up a rock, throwing it, aiming for God Alone knows what, and hitting my son square in the mouth. And chipping–no, not chipping, breaking–his tooth. His right maxillary lateral incisor if you must know. Although we didn’t know it at the time, the tooth was broken so badly that its root was exposed.

As I said, we didn’t know–not until the next day. You see, my son, friend that he is, wanted to spare his friend any potential trouble. So he did something we are a little too good at: he lied.

On the one hand, I commended him for his loyalty, but as he isn’t Oliver North, and no actual lives were at stake, there was no “higher purpose” to his lie.

In fact, Jesus said in Luke 8:17 (ESV), “For nothing is hidden that will not be made manifest, nor is anything secret that will not be known and come to light.” The author of Hebrews put this way in 4:13 (ESV), “No creature is hidden from his sight, but all are naked and exposed to the eyes of him we must give account.”

Point is: the truth has a way of coming out. And usually the consequences are much worse than they are if we just tell the truth up front.

Have you ever lied to spare someone’s feelings, or like my son, to spare them trouble? Please share in the comments.

14 thoughts on “Football Tag

  1. Oh yes I have done that. They lying part, not the football tag part. I was an idiot and did an idiotic thing. But God forgives!

    The kids in my church sometimes play Frisbee tag. Sort of like dodgeball, they throw Frisbees at each other to get someone out. It can get a little dangerous if we don’t watch them too close.

  2. Yea, I can’t remember the specific times, but I know I’ve definitely lied on someone else’s behalf. Not proud of it, but it happens. Like you said, the truth does come out in the end.

    • Truly, I count that as His faithfulness–He loves us too much to let us get away with stuff, to leave us as we are. And it’s truly, truly a special kind of humbling when one’s kids call one out.

  3. Yup, I’ve done it plenty of time. I do it to Matt. I keep telling him his head is not that big, when in reality, it’s huge!!! : )

    *I hope you son is better. BTW, that’s a story he will never forget. The treasure of friendship!

    • 😉 Funny! But you haven’t my head in close up–I’m the only other blogger I know with a head as big as Matt’s, and a nose bigger than Bryan Allain’s! 😉

      Thanks for your well wishes! I’m sure he’ll never forget.

  4. Great article Chad – I feel your pain with the chipped tooth mishap – happened to my son while running into a fence playing baseball one year. Ugh. Yes I’m sure that I have covered for people before – sometimes it is the right thing to do. Great connecting with you on twitter and your blog.

    • Cindy, thanks for your comment! Twitter, and the blogosphere, have afforded me a great many opportunities to make connections. Always happy to welcome a new friend.

      I wish the situation with my son’s friend had turned out differently, but after holding him accountable, his family has stopped talking to us.

      • I’m sorry to hear that. Good grief – I’ve had situations that are just silly when you break them down – but in the meantime, relationships are lost forever. It makes it really tough – I completely understand.

  5. I think that my lie probably comes in the form of silence. Instead of “ratting someone out”, I will just not say anything at all. It’s still a lie though.

Leave a Reply

