Virginia is for Lovers?

Spending one week in Virginia does not make me an expert on that particular commonwealth. Our first night there was spent in a hotel room that was far to small for 2 parents and 5 children. The rest of the week was spent in a 3-bedroom cabin at a resort in Gordonsville.

Gordonsville is a small town northeast of Charlottesville in central-ish Virginia. Probably named after some guy named Gordon. I don’t know.

And when I say that we spent the week in a cabin, I don’t mean that we spent the whole week sitting in a cabin. We did stuff. We spent one day in Washington, DC. We visited Monticello (Thomas Jefferson’s place) and Montpelier (James Madison’s place)—-neither of them were home. We spent a lot of time in the resort’s pool and getting lost on back roads. We had a great time.

But I have a confession…..

I’m not sure that the “Virginia is for Lovers” slogan is the one that they should still be using.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a fine slogan. But after spending a week in Virginia I have come up with a few new slogans that Virginia could use. Here they are:

1. Virginia is for Bad Driving. Remember that scene in Groundhog Day when Bill Murray’s character goes a little crazy, steals both a truck and Punxsatawney Phil, and is chased by police? Remember how he lets the groundhog drive? I think most of the people in Virginia are being chauffeured by groundhogs.

2.  Virginia is for Ants. Our cabin had 3 bedrooms, six beds, 2 1/2 bathrooms, a large dining table, a washer/dryer, a nice back deck, and about 478,352 ants. I’m not talking about little bitty scrawny ants. I’m talking about big ‘ol pick-up-a-Kia sized ants. If you peeked into our cabin that first night, we weren’t practicing for a Gordonsville production of Riverdance. We were stomping on ants.

3.  Virginia is for Backward Toilets. Toilet handles on regular, non-public toilets are supposed to be on the left. I have no verifiable data to back this up, but it is still true. Why? Because I said so (quit acting like my kids). Anyway, the toilets at our cabin were backward; the handles were on the right. And every time I tried to flush I reached to the left. It’s possible that I had some disparaging words for the toilets last week.

4.  Virginia isn’t for Shoe Stores. Unbeknownst to us, the GPS that we borrowed was set for “shortest distance” instead of “fastest route.” This means that it took us on back-roads and highways as we headed to Washington, DC. Yay us! We were looking for a shoe store as we traveled because my wife forgot her tennis shoes and did not want to walk around our nation’s capitol wearing sandals. We never found a shoe store. Does the constitution of the commonwealth of Virginia have an amendment against shoe stores? Probably.

Let’s get real for a moment. “Virginia is for Lovers” has been Virginia’s slogan since 1969, so I don’t think that they’ll be changing it anytime soon. As I think more about it and about my week in Virginia, I suppose they really shouldn’t try.

I love my wife and being with her more last week made me love her even more.

I love my kids and being around them made me love them even more.

I love ice cream and eating it every day while on vacation made me love it even more.

And being away from the craziness of life with the ability to commune with God with an uncluttered mind made me love Him even more.

Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart,
and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.

Matthew 22:37

I guess they can stick with “Virginia is for Lovers.” But if they ever change to “Virginia is for Ants” I better be getting some recognition.

(What could your state’s motto be? What are some things that your state is for? Where did you go on your last vacation? Share away!)

37 thoughts on “Virginia is for Lovers?

  1. “Louisiana, home of the eight-month summer!”

    Although the year we went to Virginia/Washington D.C., it was like I flew three hours in a circle, because the weather in both locations was exactly the same.

  2. I am so glad I subscribed! I love your sense of humor! My husband and I went to Virginia on our honeymoon, so I’m sticking with the Virginia is for lovers thing. Isn’t it a beautiful and historic place? One of my favorite places was this natural bridge near Lexington. It must have been owned by Christians, because they do this light show at night where they read Scripture. It was AMAZING! Sounds like you had a great time with the family…God bless!

  3. I’ve never liked Georgia being the “Peach State” Last I paid attention we’re actually like 3rd in line for peach producing in the states, and all the Peaching happens up north. I grew up in Georgia and saw nary a Peach tree. Plenty of Pecans, though. I would be willing to accept The Pecan State.

  4. So I’m from VA and our toilets def have the handle on the left side. Now do you know why VA is for lovers? I believe the slogan started because VA is for beach lovers, mountain lovers, and history lovers. They then dropped it down to VA is for lovers because they felt the other titles were too limiting. I’m glad that you had a great time! I love VA.

  5. Texas – Hotter than H-E-Double L.

    My wife and I would really love to go to Virginia. This summer we are having to settle for Corpus Christi but one day we will get there!

    Glad you had a good time.

  6. Florida is for humidity.

    My last vacation(ish) was in Brazil. We spent half the week relaxing on a huge ranch and getting fed like kings and the second half doing ministry at a youth camp. It was awesome.

    Glad that you were able to get away, man. You were missed!

  7. I think MN’s slogan is “land of 10,000 Lakes”…which I believe is inaccurate. I think we actually have more than that. However, I think it should be called “The land of 10,000 snowflakes”…it didn’t stop snowing this year until the 1st week of May.

  8. I live in New York so our slogan is “The Big Apple” but their aren’t many apple tree around the city. I would rename my city, “The pigeon city of the world”

    I am going on vacation next week Friday and heading to Atlanta –> Hilton Head, SC —> Atlanta (spend an evening with Dustin and Ben) –> NYC.

  9. Hilarious! Is it really named that? Wow. Washington State. The place of beauty and absence of warm weather and sunshine. No – that’s not really true. Eastern Washington gets all the warm weather. Good times. Heading to LaConner this Sunday to ride bikes with our friends 🙂

  10. Right now our state motto is “Georgia, it’s cotton pickin HOT!” It’s been 95 degrees everyday for a month and we just got in to June. My last vacay was Panama City beach. But, we are headed to Cancun, Mexico for a whole week in two weeks. Excited and nervous. First time flyer… I know I know… Pray for me. 🙂

  11. My province’s motto used to be “Ontario – Keep it beautiful”. But several years ago they changed it to “Yours to discover”. So “Yours to discover” is on the bottom of all our license plates. It makes for some interesting novelty plates when you add that phrase.

    If I were to make up my own I would say “Ontario – definitely not Quebec”. Both provinces would like that definition I think.

Leave a Reply

