Why I Love Weird Al

Maybe I don’t need to explain myself, but I think I should anyway.

No, I don’t mean explaining while I am rocking a mustache and goatee combo even though this isn’t still the 90s. That should be obvious–I’m trying to cover up some of “the ugly.”

For some reason I think that I should explain my affinity for Weird Al Yankovic and his music. I’m just not sure why I think I need to offer an explanation.

Maybe it’s because many people probably don’t expect a pastor to proclaim that Yankovic is his favorite singer. Chris Tomlin or Steven Curtis Chapman or Bono are all more expected choices. Not Weird Al. That’s sort of like a fat guy claiming that cauliflower is his favorite food. It just doesn’t seem to fit.

Maybe it’s because Yankovic isn’t taken seriously as an artist. I understand this, I suppose. On the surface his music may be seen as silly and sometimes a little cheesy. But if you look deeper you will see that it is even sillier than you imagined. It’s also brilliant.

I’m not sure why I think that an explanation is necessary, but I am prepared to offer one any way. Here are 3 reasons why I love Weird Al.

1.  He plays the accordion. I’m not sure that people are issued harps upon entering into Heaven. If they are, I hope that my harp is replaced with an accordion and that I will be able to play it as well as Yankovic. Oh–you think that hearing an accordion for all of eternity sounds more like Hell than Heaven. I’ll be praying for you.

2.  He dislikes weasels. I’ve never like weasels, but I could never find any songs about stomping them. Yankovic filled this gap with his song “Weasel Stomping Day.” I am thankful for this. If only we could make Weasel Stomping Day a national (or global) holiday. That would be great. For us. It would be terrible for weasels.

3.  He’s a gangsta. I mean that in the nerdiest way possible. Okay, he’s not really a gangsta. But he has successfully added rap to his repertoire. Actually, he is able to cross genres with amazing ease.

Those are three of the reasons why I am a fan of Yankovic. The main reason, though, is something else.

I like to laugh and I believe that laughter is a gift from God.

A merry heart doeth good like a medicine…
Proverbs 17:22

It seems that Yankovic’s only agenda is to make people laugh and he does it in a family friendly way.

I appreciate that and I hope that others can as well.

Yes–there are times to be serious. But there are also times to laugh at the absurdities of life.

Weird Al Yankovic helps me with this.

As I mentioned yesterday, my wife bought me his new CD Alpocalypse for our anniversary. I highly encourage you to check it out. That is if you aren’t too busy practicing the harp.

Are you a Weird Al fan? What makes you laugh?

 

 

33 thoughts on “Why I Love Weird Al

  1. I can’t say I am a fan but I love his creativity and use of parody. I thought his “Fat” to the tune of MJ’s “Bad” was brilliant. I love to laugh. Maybe that is why I look in the mirror each morning to start my day off right. 🙂

  2. Not so much a weird al fan, but he was on the view yesterday (don’t ask) and it was hilarious. He was singing the song that poked fun at GaGa.

    What makes me laugh? I really like dry-stupid stuff.

  3. Love Weird Al and seriously, if he’s ever performing anywhere near you, GO SEE HIM. It was definitely one of the most entertaining concerts I’ve ever attended. And as a musician, anyone who doesn’t take him & his band seriously should really take a minute to LISTEN to his music. They cover ALL genres absolutely flawlessly. That is hard to do. And when they break and do their own stuff? It is TIGHT. They did this kind of beat-box, harmony, vocal something or other at the concert that was just ridiculous. They would go from some kind of complex rap thing into perfect 3-part harmony without any kind of cue. I have no idea how they did it, but it was amazing. I saw them with 2 of my band mates and we were all just amazed.

    I think my favorite is either Biggest Ball of Twine in Minnesota or The Saga Begins (because I’m also a huge Star Wars nerd).

    I haven’t picked up Alpocalypse yet, but hope to soon. I know my oldest son will appreciate that, as he’s probably the truest Weird Al fan in our family!

  4. I, too, heart Weird Al and have since a young age. Love him for his humor, his brilliance in writing, and he and his band’s killer, killer, KILLER musicianship. Went with Alise and our drummer Corey to see them live, and dang. To see the major awesome points, look up a post or so to Alise’s.
    EVERYONE should give him a closer listen, and hopefully they would be able to see the brilliance contained within. Oh, and ALpocalypse is great.
    That is all.

  5. I’ve been a Weird Al fan for about 15 years now. Not only do he and his band have some serious talent, he’s a genuinely nice guy. Before he does a parody of an artist’s song, he contacts them and obtains their permission. There’s no need to do that from a legal standpoint, he just does it as a courtesy to the artist. To me, that speaks volumes.

    My favorite song? I gotta go with Bohemian Polka! Who else but Weird Al could pull off Bohemian Rhapsody in polka form?

  6. One of the highlights of my life is talking to Al on the phone one day after he twittered a pay phone that he was standing next to at an airport. Al rules!

  7. i dont think you should have to offer an explanation and i think al is a very talented artist besides god can be found in everything if we take the time to see it

  8. I was a Weird Al fan about 20 years ago. I’m kinda shocked he’s still making music. But obviously, he still has fans!

    I will laugh at just about anything. My favorite humour (see that?) is of the clever variety. But I’ll laugh at a fart joke like nobody’s business (or is it everybody’s business?).

    • His longevity is pretty amazing and his new album is one of his best (in my musically challenged opinion).

      I think that farts become everyone’s business as soon as they are out there.

  9. I’m not a die-hard fan, but his Lady Gaga parody was pretty hilarious!

    Honestly, I laugh at the most random things. It could be so stupid, and I’ll be that one person laughing lol!

  10. Weird Al is amazing. My brother had one of his CD’s on a very long car trip and every time we listened to “Albuquerque” we would bust a gut. We had to have heard it 50 times and still laughed every time. As for other things that make me laugh: my kids and hilarious sitcoms like Raising Hope.

Leave a Reply

