Prophetic Thursday: Unusual Prayer Endings

Welcome to Prophetic Thursday here at the blog. Yes–IT”S BACK! You remember Prophetic Thursday, right? It’s where I peer down the pike and try to give you a heads up on what to expect within Christianity in the near and not so near future. To see the last 2 posts in this series click Here and Here.

Unusual Prayer Endings

Pastor Joe Nelms of Family Baptist Church in Lebanon, TN became a household name in some parts of the country thanks to his pre-race prayer before the start of the Nationwide NASCAR race in Nashville a few weeks ago. If by some miracle you missed this spectacle, here it is:


I believe that the part of his prayer that stands out is that way that he ended it with “Boogity, Boogity, Boogity, Amen!” Others have picked up on this, too. And I’ve got bad news…

We should prepare for copycats. Surely there are others out there wanting to spice up their public prayers with unusual endings.

Here are a few prayer endings that we can expect to hear very soon:

1. Holla at ya boy, Amen! This incorporates a phrase I never intend to use. In fact, I publicly give permission to anyone who ever hears me use that phrase to beat me like a rented mule. Granted, I’ve never seen anyone beat a rented mule and I have no idea if you can even rent them anymore. But I would imagine that you would beat one pretty mercilessly. Poor mules.

2. Meka Leka Hi, Meka Hiney Ho, Amen! Remember Jambi from Pee-Wee’s Playhouse? Remember how those were his special magic words? Remember Chairry? Remember Cowboy Curtis as played by Laurence Fishburne? Remember how those childhood memories were ruined by Pee-Wee’s bad choices? Now I feel like Debbie Downer. Waa-Waaaaaaa.

3. May the Force be with us, Amen! Comic-Con may not have an opening prayer, but they should. Nerds need Jesus, too.

4. Clear eyes, full hearts, can’t lose, Amen! I never watched Friday Night Lights, the TV show that featured this phrase. But a lot of folks did. And one of them will one day say the pre-game prayer before a high school football game. I don’t make many guarantees, but this one will definitely be used.

5. Let me be clear, Amen! I don’t listen to President Obama every time he speaks. But let me be clear–he says let me be clear a lot. I wonder if he says it even when he isn’t in front of cameras. “Michelle, let me be clear–I prefer the 2-ply toilet paper.”

Let me be clear–I don’t expect to ever use any of these. While I enjoy laughing and joking and being silly at times, I consider prayer to be sacred. It is us talking to God, the Creator and Sustainer of all that is seen and all that is unseen. I believe that He deserves respect and reverence.

But some of these will one day be used. And when they are remember that you heard it here first.

What other unusual prayer endings will we one day hear?

What do you think of the much talked about NASCAR prayer?

35 thoughts on “Prophetic Thursday: Unusual Prayer Endings

  1. Here’s one, due to conflicting feelings on the matter, not likely to be heard (but should be): “Expecto patronum, amen.” (Expecto patronum is correct classical Latin for “I desire a protector”).

    For the record, anyone who drives NASCAR needs as much prayer as they can get.

  2. For the Nascar prayer itself, I’m going to be lazy and re-use the comment I posted on the story when it originally came out:

    I found and watched the video, and here’s my full take on it:

    1) There’s nothing wrong with a man finding his wife attractive. There is no universal beauty standard. A majority may like slender girls, and hey, I do too, but she has a winning smile and attraction isn’t all about your weight, folks. Just because you may not personally find it beautiful doesn’t mean he’s not allowed to do so.

    2) The article writer leaves out his opening statement, in which he paraphrased Paul’s writings of “in everything give thanks.” He leads off by saying that God told us to give thanks in everything, so he begins listing things he’s thankful for at the race that night. And it’d be kinda hard to have a NASCAR race without fuel, tires, cars, drivers, and a track. :> There’s actually a clever lesson here, if you look; everything that exists is something for which we can thank God. All those items that go into giving millions of people a chance to smile and cheer in tough times were invented by human brains, and human brains were invented by God.

    3) I’m at most a casual NASCAR fan. I rarely ever watch a race and couldn’t tell you who more than a dozen at most of the drivers were. But I grew up in NASCAR country, and I know the people and how they think and feel. Sure, people laughed; he had some funny lines, especially borrowing DW’s trademark. But I saw amusement, not derision. The same laughter I’d hear at church if the pastor said something similar from the pulpit. And I saw thousands of men with their hats over their hearts for a prayer. I know some denominations require their pastors/priests/etc to be more grave and dignified, and it’s certainly important to respect the honor and majesty of God. But southern Baptist preachers tend to be more personable and informal traditionally, and I saw nothing to suggest that this pastor was intending anything but a humor in keeping with NASCAR culture.

    4) God loves Darrell Waltrip. How could anyone not? 😀

    • I realize after copying my other comment, I should clarify that the first part about his wife was directed to other commenters on the article in question who were saying very foul things about his wife being ugly and fat. And the second was occasioned by the article in question quoting some of his list of things he was thankful for, but not quoting his full comments.

      For those with no NASCAR experience, the Boogity, boogity, boogity is because Darrell Waltrip, a former driver who’s now a race commentator, leads off the start of each race with “Boogity, boogity, boogity. Let’s go racing, boys!” DW, as he’s known, is well beloved in the sport and his catchphrase is a part of NASCAR culture now.

    • DW is loveable–that’s for sure. Boogity. Good points and I will not say that everyone has to believe like me. But as for me–I will leave the funny lines for when I’m not speaking to the Almighty.

  3. On your other list, Matt:

    2) I thought Peewee was creepy long before his bad choices, so I never watched his show. He creeped me out even as a kid.

    3) Any pastor thinking about using “May the Force be with us” had best be sure what kind of nerds he has in his audience. Using that in front of a group of Trekkies could get you pelted with offering plates. 😉

  4. I love the NASCAR prayer. Love it.

    I’m not going to get political but I actually heard a pastor once end his prayer “and thank you for Sarah Palin, Amen!” The funny thing is that he wasn’t praying for anything political. He was single so perhaps it wasn’t her politics he enjoyed… 😉

  5. Greg was just telling me about this unusual nascar prayer the other day! I’m not sure I know of any prayers that ended weird – or funny – but our pastor’s wife one time said “breast” instead of “bless” and our whole staff just roared with laughter – yes we’re THAT mature 🙂

  6. My daughter ends our dinner-time prayer with, “And thank you for everything else we have to be thankful for.” ‘Cause she’s hungry but she doesn’t want to leave anything out, I guess.

    The person leading prayer in the video sounds more like he is delivering a commercial than a prayer. BUt I like to think that God has a sense of humor and wouldn’t mind the boogities (if I may make that plural). At church camp we sing the Superman Blessing. I’ll spare you the performance.

  7. Had a conversation about how it would be fun if we said “Holla” instead of “Amen”.

    In Jesus’ name, Holla.

    Or have various mumblings of “holla” during a sermon. 😉

Leave a Reply

