The Name that Matters

I am not a pastor. At least not for now. While I am at peace with my decision to resign, it has put me in something of a quandary.

Should I change the name of this blog?

This blog has been called “The Seeking Pastor” since its inception. I am known as @seekingpastor on Twitter. Whenever I comment on someone else’s blog, I use the name seekingpastor.

But now….

What am I supposed to do now?

Should I rename this blog to reflect my current situation? Or should I leave it as is?

Maybe you can help.

Should the name of this blog continue to be “The Seeking Pastor” or should I change it to one of these alternate names? Here are the possiblities:

1. The Brobdingnagian Believer. Brobdingnagian=gigantic. Believer=follower of Christ. Me=The Brobdingnagian Believer.

2. Big Ugly’s Big ‘Ol Bunch of Awesome. They call me Ugly…Big Ugly.

3. Five Kids, Empty Wallet. Self-explanatory. Having 5 kids means my hands are full, my house is full, my vehicle is full…but my wallet is empty. And so is my reservoir of patience at times.

4. Cannon Goes Boom. ‘Cause that’s how I roll.

5. The Reluctant Goat Herder. My wife has goats and sheep. Sometimes they get out of the fence. I have to usher them back in. Reluctantly.

6. The Big Sneeze. If you have ever heard me sneeze, you would understand. My sneeze has been known to rattle buildings.

On second thought, maybe these alternative names aren’t that good.  Maybe I will just stick with what I have.

What this blog is named doesn’t really matter. What matters is that I am continue to lift up the name of Jesus.

For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.
Romans 10:13

The name of Jesus matters. The name of this blog doesn’t.

I need to keep remembering this.

Maybe you need to remember this, too.

What are some other possible new names for this blog?
If you could change your name, what  would you change it to?
Share away!

44 thoughts on “The Name that Matters

  1. In all seriousness, who you are is not defined by what you do–nor does the fact that you’re not currently pastoring a church change your calling. Have you stopped to consider that perhaps you’re a pastor to us, your readers? You have a powerful ministry right here–on this blog–so my vote is: don’t change the name.

  2. As I read this post matt, I began to immediately think the same thoughts that Chad has already expressed. You are a pastor…just not of a “specific church community.” Keep the content. keep the name. I like my name. I don’t like William but I like Bill. Think I will keep it. 🙂

  3. I think your blog name still fits. Just cause you aren’t paid to be a pastor doesnt’ mean that you aren’t one. You still are to many people through this blog of yours. If I changed my name it would be to Knox McCoy. That’s the coolest name for a blogger ever. Or Magic Johnson so I could be on the reality show Same Name and then meet my favorite basketball player.

  4. Matt, I read your bloggs often and they lift me up and give me support in my daily life. I even read the really funny ones to Danny. I think he has started reading them sometimes.( when I turn the computher on for him). I think you should leave it as is… You have many of readers and I need the pick me ups that your stories give me… Remember, I had 4 children plus their “best friends” at 29 years old I had to drive a large white van to haul everyone in. we were broke as well. the best we could do was go to the lake and swim. we had no floats only life jackets. the kids have turned out fine and now they have great memories. So we relate to many of your stories. I too am FAT, UGLY and my FEET DON’T MATCH. But God loves us for who we are… I truly believe you will have a great door open and will be one of the biggest Pastors ever.. If you combine your bloggs it would make a great book. We love you and your family…. our phone number has not changed. call or come and see us. NO we have not moved….. Danny will be here when the termites are eating the concrete from under his feet…..Linda

  5. I don’t think you should change the name, but I understand the conundrum. From a blogging perspective you’ve built a “brand” of sorts around the name and it’s important to preserve that.
    From a personal standpoint I’ll be praying for you and your family as you navigate this next chapter.

  6. keep your name as seeking because it reminds us daily to seek god and his wisdom in all things you are still seeking because you seek a new direction and you still have a callin on your life so enough said

  7. Just because you’re not a paid pastor, doesn’t mean you’re not a pastor any longer. You still shepherd your readers here, for one thing. For another, I’d bet that pastoring comes naturally to you no matter where you are or what you’re doing.

    Life changes tend to help us reflect on our identity- and this is valuable. But too often we tie identity to what we do, not who we are and Whose we are. I’ve certainly been guilty of that!

  8. Matt, you ARE a pastor. The Lord called you and gifted you. The name “seeking Pastor” still fits albeit in a different connotation. You are now seeking where He wants you. I agree with several of the other posters that you are a pastor to us through your blog. I am blessed by your insight, wisdom and humor.

  9. I actually think you should keep it as The Seeking Pastor. Whether you are pastoring a church or not, you are still a pastor in the sense that we all are called to be ministers of God. True pastoring is a calling, a heart, not a title. You definitely have a pastoral heart, whether or not you have that title.

    Praying for you in this time of transition!

  10. Um…my first thought was “he’s still a seeking pastor but just seeking something different than before.”

    So leave the name as is.

    But put a big picture of Ben Stein somewhere on the site ’cause Ben’s goofy.

  11. I thought about this really hard (about 3.4 minutes) and I suggest you change your blog’s name to “Matt Cannon blog for people who can’t read good and wanna learn to do other stuff good too” Your slogan can be: I teach you that there’s more to life than just being really, really, really funny.

    Virtual fist bump if you know where I got that from?.

  12. Unless you’ve turned your back on Jesus, I think you’ll always be a pastor. If you have been called, just because you step back from working at a church doesn’t mean you’re not still pastoring. Right?

  13. Hey Matt! I’ve been catching up on all the changes in your life. I hope you are finding the next step each day as you continue to step through the unknown. I think you are still a pastor and should keep the name. Then again, if you rebrand we’ll follow you. Just point the existing URL to wherever you end up.

Leave a Reply

