A Much Better Father

“Daddy, there’s poop on my shoe!”

For a while that phrase was the one that I liked the least.

It meant that one of my kids had stepped in dog poo. Usually it was one of the boys. It meant that he probably hadn’t realized that he had stepped in the dog poo until he had tracked it into the house. Sometimes it meant that he had climbed onto a chair and created a mess there, too.

It meant that there was a mess to clean up and that he needed Daddy’s help.

I don’t mind helping my kids. In fact I usually enjoy it. Helping them with homework, helping them throw a spiral, helping them figure out how to annoy each other less–these are all great. But helping them clean dog poo off of their shoes is not so great. It’s disgusting.

Thankfully they are needing my help doing this less these days.

They have become more aware of where the dog poo is and more adept at avoiding it. They recognize when they have stepped in dog poo a little quicker which means that they rarely track it inside. And when they step in it they are more capable of cleaning themselves up than they used to be.

They don’t need Daddy’s help as much. This makes me happy.

But there is something that makes me happier.

God is an infinitely better father than I am.

Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace,
that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.
Hebrews 4:16

He doesn’t mind cleaning up our messes. In fact, He calls us to Himself for the purpose of cleaning us.

He never grows weary of showing us grace even when we step in the same pile of sin again and again.

He is not waiting for the day when we will be able to take care of our own messes. That day will never come.

We will always need Him. And He will always be there.

Because He is a much better father than I am.

What is a phrase that you hate to hear?
How can we show our gratitude to God for cleansing us of our sins?
Share away!

19 thoughts on “A Much Better Father

  1. The phrase I hate to hear the most is “I Can’t.” i always go back to what I once heard: I can’t is really saying I won’t. I didn’t let my children use it. I despise hearing it from those who follow Christ.

  2. I second Bill’s suggestion. I hate to hear “I Can’t” especially when they don’t even try. I’m a big fan of give it all you got and can’t becomes can.

  3. I think whenever we used to hear the toilet flush and hear a small voice saying “uh oh” – definitely not a good day. Luckily that didn’t happen too much. I’m so glad that God still is in the “cleaning up messes” category – because I don’t think I’m through making them.

  4. I’m not sure why but I just thought of the scene from Anchorman where Ron Burgundy says to his dog “You pooped in the refrigerator?”

    The best way we can show our gratitude is to keep our eyes open for the piles of poop. Even if you know that Dad is going to clean it, you don’t want him to have to.

  5. One time I was playing catch in the back yard with my brother.

    I made a spectacular diving catch.

    The poo went from my glove…down my arm…down my shirt…down my shorts…down my leg…and onto my shoe.

    It was quite fresh.

Leave a Reply

