Possible T-shirts for Sale at Catalyst

I am not at Catalyst Atlanta. I have never been to a Catalyst conference. But I have heard A LOT about them.

What is Catalyst? Here is what their website says:

“Catalyst is a powerful gathering of young leaders, a movement of influencers and world changers who love Jesus, see things differently, and feel a burden for our generation. We seek to learn, worship, and create together with a momentous energy passionately pursuing God. We are Catalysts… Kingdom ambassadors, change agents, influencers, and cultural architects seeking to change our churches, communities, and cultures for God.”

What have I heard about it?

That it’s the most amazing, life-changing, mind-blowing experience that a person could ever possibly hope to have on planet Earth. That the speakers are anointed of God, the messages are supernaturally convicting, and each attendee becomes at least 73% more spiritual than the average church-goer.  That the experience is similar to hugging 1,000 puppies all at once while pooping gold and writing songs better than Chris Tomlin’s at the same time.

In other words, those who attend seem to use their fair share of hyperbole.

I have no problem with this, but hearing and reading what they have to say makes me wonder if the following t-shirts are on sale at the conference:

1. Catalyst: Just like Pentecost….only cooler

2. Mark Driscoll gave me a noogie at Catalyst Atlanta

3. I’ve got product in my hair and Jesus in my heart–Catalyst 11

4. FRANCIS CHAN FOR PRESIDENT!

5. I went to Catalyst…because I REALLY love Jesus

6. I wish the pastor at my church was as good as the speakers at Catalyst…and I’m the pastor

7. Catalyst: So good I expected to get a harp

8. David Platt: The World’s Wisest Teenager–CAT11

9. I used to be a lowly pastor, but now I’m a Cultural Architect–thanks, Catalyst!

10. Who needs seminary? I went to Catalyst!

Hopefully you realize that this is meant to be humorous and is not intended to disparage Catalyst or any of the amazing speakers mentioned in any way. I am thankful for what Catalyst stands for and for the impact that the conferences have made on thousands of people throughout the years. And I hope to be able to attend a conference one day.

But I know that I can be a catalyst in my church, community, and culture even if that never happens.

I hope that you know the same.

What other t-shirts should be on sale at Catalyst 11?
Would you vote for Francis Chan?

28 thoughts on “Possible T-shirts for Sale at Catalyst

  1. Got Catalyst?
    My church beat your church (we went to Catalyst)
    Who let the Dogs Out? See the Big Dogs at Catalyst.

    I have never been and not sure I want to. I like the smaller venues, like Catalyst OneDay with Craig and Andy. Or theSticks in two weeks in Spartansburg.

  2. Dude! Love it! I know these guys are great, but they do get in my nerves, at times. When I heard Louis Giglio recently, I said to my wife, “if all I had to do was preach one or two messages a tour, I could get pretty good at the presentation….nit to mention if I had Chris Tomlin and his band backing me up!”

  3. Catalyst This!!!
    Someone Went To Catalyst And All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt
    Cattle List? What’s A Cattle List?
    I Went To Catalyst And Met Jon Acuff and Bryan Allain

    I do think Giglio has to preach more messages now, though, down at Passion City church. Unless they listen to the same message and the same songs every service. That’s what contemporary churches usually do, right? JK

    Matt, Dave and I are talking about going to DG National Conference next year. That’s almost as cool, right?

  4. I know one that you wont’ find.

    I went to Catalyst and I all got was this lousy T-shirt

    But on a serious note #1 made me laugh so loud that people looked at me awkwardly in McDonalds.

  5. Catalyst = Cattle-less
    That’s about as creative as I can be today. lol

    As for voting for Chan, I actually wouldn’t. I respect the man and know God uses him mightily, but I don’t think his gifting is in leading a country. I would rather have him where God called him to be and equipped him to be.

  6. HAHA!! This is awesome. I shared with the pastors at my church. We all wanted to go. Maybe someday Catalyst will come to Seattle for more than One Day.

    I don’t think I can improve on your list. Brilliant

  7. I would love to go to Catalyst! When’s it gonna happen? Not sure. I plan on attending my first one next year and maybe speaking there in 3-5 years. And yes, Chan has my vote.

  8. The shirts would all have to be super V neck’s
    they would have to come with a complimentary hoodie that has a place to put your ipod, macbook air, and iphone.

    I also believe a good shirt would say…
    “I went to Catalyst now where is my stinkin’ book deal?”
    “I went to Catalyst and I have upgraded from Pastor to Visionary Engineer”

    I have attended Catalyst West the last 3 years even though I live in Ohio…the month of the conference works best for my schedule and it is is nice to get out of the gloominess of NorthWest Ohio late winter/early spring. I have greatly enjoyed the last three 3 years I have been able to attend. Some of my favorite speakers from this past year were Andy Stanley, Judah Smith, and Christine Caine. I am guilty of wearing the thick rimmed Rob Bellesque glasses but I have no desire to bust out some skinny jeans I prefer to breath and I don’t want to wear a V Neck that is so low that it looks like a cardigan.

Leave a Reply

