If Jesus is Your Co-Pilot, Then…..

“Jesus is My Co-Pilot”

There is no other bumper sticker slogan that aggravates me more than this one.

I know, I know. It’s not as sacrilegious as some of the other ones that are out there. I think that is part of the problem. The error in this statement is subtle; it sounds right, but it is so very wrong.

A co-pilot assists the pilot, but is not in command. A co-pilot takes direction from the pilot. A co-pilot is not as important as the pilot.

For true followers of Christ, this analogy just doesn’t fit. Jesus is the one in the control, the one who gives direction, the one who is most important.

But maybe you like this saying. Maybe you believe this saying.

If you think that Jesus is your co-pilot, then you may also believe that….

1. Jesus is your Potsie. It’s not that I have anything against this character portrayed by the irrepressible Anson Williams on Happy Days. It’s just that he wasn’t the main character; he was just a guy that hung around Richie and Fonzie that was slightly less annoying than Ralph Malph. Jesus is not just a guy; He’s the King of Kings.

2. Jesus is your RC Cola. If you’ve never had RC Cola, let me describe it to you. It’s flat Coca-Cola. I’ve never known anyone who would choose it over basically anything else that is available. Jesus is not like this. He should be your first choice. Period.

3. Jesus is your Circus Peanuts. Circus Peanuts are more like door stops than junk food. I question the judgement on anyone who likes them. But they are a good back-up for when all of the good junk food disappears. Some treat Jesus as their back-up plan–He deserves much better.

4. Jesus is your old sweatpants. You know, the ones with holes and stains in strange places. The ones that you wear around the house, but don’t feel comfortable wearing around anyone else. Kind of like how some people talk about Jesus sometimes, but don’t feel comfortable talking about him in front of certain people.

The point I’m trying to get across is that Jesus is Jesus. He is to have preeminence in our lives. He is the one we are to adore and lift up.

He gives us direction and guidance. He is the Redeemer, Healer, and Lord.

If He is your Savior, then He is not your co-pilot.

Change seats if you have to–He deserves to be in control of your life.

Can you think of other sayings similar to “Jesus is my co-pilot?”
Potsie or Ralph Malph–which one do you prefer?

43 thoughts on “If Jesus is Your Co-Pilot, Then…..

  1. I just don’t like most Christian bumper stickers. My faith is deeper and more real than some cliche bumper sticker saying.

    With that, Jesus is my homeboy/homie drives me absolutely nuts. I want to punch people who wear that shirt/have that bumpersticker. In Christ of course. 🙂

  2. The response bumper sticker I’ve seen for the Jesus Co-pilot bumper sticker is one that reads “If Jesus is your Co-Pilot, switch seats”

    One combo that gets me is the few times I’ve seen a car with both a Christian bumper sticker and one of those stickers with “tolerance” spelled out using symbols of various religions.

    I admit to being amused by the Jesus fish war. There’s some very serious issues involved, but the creativity of the competing stickers is amusing. We started out with the Jesus fish symbols on people’s cars. Then the atheists began using the “Darwin fish”, with legs on it and Darwin’s name in the center. A year or two ago, I saw a counter involving a larger Jesus fish swallowing a smaller Darwin fish, with “survival of the fittest” underneath. I like that one. And there are many more variations besides.

  3. I hate the Christian t shirts that take product slogans and change them up to be all Jesusy. Those make me want to punch people.

  4. I kind of liked the one from the tattoo on the “archbishop” in ‘Johnny English’:

    “Jesus is coming soon… try to look busy!”

    The actual one that irks me the most is “God said it. I believe it. That settles it.”
    Nothing says “closedminded” like a declaration that you don’t even have to consider alternatives.

Leave a Reply

