Winnie the Pooh, Batman, and Questions

Awwwwww!

This drawing (that I first saw at 22Words) has quickly become one of my favorites.

Mainly because it is good to see Batman so happy. He’s usually hunting down bad guys and bringing them to justice. Here he’s hugging Winnie the Pooh. It looks like Pooh initiated the hug and Batman pressed himself into the bear’s arms with irrepressible joy.

I like it so much that I made it my background on my work computer. This means that I’ve gotten to look at it a lot over the last few days.

As it turns out, this has not been a good thing. My head is now swimming with questions that weren’t there before:

1. Are they hugging or fighting? Did putting up with Tigger all these years cause Pooh to snap and become a villain? Did Batman catch him trying to steal all of Gotham City’s honey? Are they involved in a battle to the death? Are Christopher Robin and Batman’s partner Robin the same person? Be honest–have you ever seen them together?

2. Why is Pooh so big? Batman is at least six feet tall and the Pooh in the picture is a least a foot taller. Did he develop a pituitary gland problem? Or did Batman get hit with some sort of shrink-ray? And if they are fighting, why doesn’t Pooh just dip him in honey and eat him?

3. Why doesn’t Pooh ever wear pants? I understand wearing pants with no shirt, but wearing a shirt with no pants is ridiculous. But so is writing a blog post about a picture of Pooh and Batman hugging. Anyway, I would feel more comfortable if Pooh had some britches on.

4. Don’t you just love the word “britches?”

These are obviously pretty silly questions. There are other questions that are far more important.

Like…

How can we best honor the Savior with our lives?

Who can we show God’s love to today? Tomorrow? This week?

What other activities have been diverting our attention away from God? What can we do to change this?

My silly Pooh/Batman questions really don’t need answers. These other questions absolutely do.

Thankfully we have a God who can handle all of our inquiries and who wants to speak into our lives.

No matter your question, run to Him.

His arms are open wide.

What other questions do you have about the  Pooh/Batman picture?
What questions have you had for God recently?

26 thoughts on “Winnie the Pooh, Batman, and Questions

  1. Is Batman really saying, “I will smile but hurry up and get this stupid picture over with?”

    Is Batman thinking, “This gives new meaning to the words ‘bear hug’ (especially if Pooh ain’t wearing pants). 🙂

    Questions: am I doing the right thing here Father? am I where I belong/

  2. LOL! Batman does look like he is about the body slam pooh…lol…

    and he looks like batman is trying really hard to do it…like pooh wieghs a thousand pounds! lol..

  3. And with that, I have a new background image. Thanks! My guess is, Batman saw that Pooh was too big for him to beat in a fair fight, so he approached him under the guise of friendship. While it looks like he’s hugging him, he’s actually planting a small explosive device on him, which he will detonate soon afterward.

    I’ve been asking God a lot of “why” questions lately. They take a lot of different forms, but basically boil down to “Why do you allow bad things to happen?”

    • Didn’t think about that angle. I’ve wanted Pooh to be blown up for years. 🙂

      As for you why question–Randy Alcorn’s book “If God is Good” may be a good one for you to read.
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  4. Interesting picture for sure. I don’t think these two belong together. That being said, I think there are a lot of people who don’t belong together either, i.e – the CHURCH as a whole. It’s really full of mismatched people, isn’t it?

  5. I think they are both pickpocketing each other. Oh wait, Pooh got no pants. Wait, where does he keep his wallet? (don’t answer that). 🙂

    I often ask God, why? I know… it’s stupid, but I do anyway.

    • Bears don’t need a wallet. They just take what they want and eat anybody who gets in their way.

      So thankful God is big enough for our why’s.
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  6. I think Pooh has been taking some HGH or something man he is huge! I always imagined him much smaller…go look at pictures with Pooh and Christopher Robin together. Look how much bigger CRob (his street name) is than pooh then look at Pooh compared to Batman. So my question is how big is CRob? Why is he not playing in the NBA….nevermind I forgot about the lockout.

  7. Inappropriate movie quote of the day (from “Planes, Trains, & Automobiles”):

    Pooh (whi kind of looks like the late John Candy): Uh, Batman, “those aren’t pillows.”

    Had to be done. You’re welcome!

    Btw, love the new look!

  8. The answer is this is Adam West Batman from the 1960’s. He was always happy. He has been shrunk by a shrink ray and almost killed by being stuck on a blob of honey. Pooh is regular height and he just saved batman. At least that’s my theory.

  9. I’m wondering why Pooh is wearing a shirt that is 10 times too small for him. It doesn’t stop at his waist, it’s more like a bra! There’s some funny business going on here.

Leave a Reply

