6 Ways to Reduce Office Supply Stress

Stress in office workplaces is a real problem with workers citing it as one of the reasons that they think about changing jobs. I’ve dealt with it before and am sure that I will deal  with it again. If you have ever worked in an office environment, you know what I mean.

I think, though, that we have focused so much on our tension that we have failed to recognize the tension felt by our office supplies.

What? Office supplies experience tension? Yes they do and over the years I have become something of an expert at helping to reduce it.

So I thought I would share 6 ways to reduce office supply stress.

1. Keep your stapler and staple remover separate. These two simply do NOT get along for obvious reasons. And I doubt that they ever will.

2. Use your red ink pen for something other than correcting mistakes on occasion. Like us, red ink pens grow weary of always being the bearers of bad news. Try writing poetry or drawing hears with them sometimes instead.

3. Stop overfilling your paper clip holder. Humans aren’t the only ones with personal space issues. Overcrowding in the holder leads to unhappy and unproductive paper clips.

4. Don’t wait so long to refill your refillable calendar. Calendars are known for their perfectionist natures. It stresses them out when we wait until the very end of the year to refill them. Try doing it the day before Thanksgiving to give your calendar something to be thankful  for, too.

5. Include the copy machine in conversations. Plenty of conversations happen at copy machines about politics, sports, relationships, and so much more, but the copy machines are rarely ever asked to join in and share their opinions. It wouldn’t hurt to see what your copy machine thinks about some of the stories of the day. If nothing else, I’m sure he know some pretty juicy gossip.

6. Your in-tray may look strong and sturdy, but he has a sensitive side, too. A simple thank you for bearing such heavy loads will go a long way.

I realize that these are silly, but I did hit on an issue that is serious–because we deal with so many problems and stress of our own, we often fail to recognize that others have burdens that they are struggling to bear as well.

Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.
Galatians 6:2

I need help. You need help. They need help.

One of the reasons we are here is to help each other, to bear one another’s burdens.

To love each other enough to step into each other’s lives and stay there as long as it takes.

Is this hard? Sometimes.

But with God all things are possible.

What are some other ways to reduce office supply stress?
How have others have helped you recently?

 

20 thoughts on “6 Ways to Reduce Office Supply Stress

  1. I make my red pen happy by using him to mark off items done in my Moleskine. My pens get along much better. I try to keep books standing up in book ends since I don’t want the one on the bottom feeling scrunched and complaining about carrying all the weight.

  2. Clean your keyboard…it deserves a cleaning and a good clorox wipe down! lol…

    My blogging peeps like yourself sir…have helped me tremendously by just writing HONEST content…

    Their perspective. struggles. Funnies. Insperation…

    • The poor neglected dust filled keyboard needs some lovin’. So true.
      I agree about being helped by other blogger/writers. Knowing we aren’t alone helps.
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  3. Wow…I never realized it until now, but I have been horrible at not including the copy machine in our conversations. I am gonna go up there right now and start talking to it!

    If you don’t hear from me in a few days, I’ve probably been committed to a loony bin.

  4. Very funny stuff. One way that some people have helped me is just listening to what God is doing in my life. I listen to a lot of people as a pastor. It was nice to have some people be there for me recently.

  5. I will never look at my office supplies the same way again. 🙂

    Other’ have helped me by encouraging me and singing songs to me while giving me helium balloons. (one of those is not true).

  6. Thank you for telling people to keep those horrible staple removers away from us. We Swingline staplers are promised to special people who will never abuse the power of the Swingline stapler.

    Now, if you’ll excuse me, Milton needs me.

  7. I’d never stopped to consider what a heavy load my office supplies bear–thanks for schooling me, Matt.

    Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to leave me gift here, and go confess my insensitivity and neglect to my pens.

  8. Good stuff, Matt – and I can relate – or rather my pens can. I have a very neglected sharpie that only gets used when I write on a CD – not very often. My pencil leads are also pretty lonely.

  9. You’re so funny Matt…
    Hmm…how about sacrificing a WHOLE pencil before reaching for another unused poor soul?
    Wait….that would mean you’d be writing with your fingertips….

  10. “Try writing poetry or drawing hears with them sometimes instead.”

    I assume you meant bears, so my red pen and I drew bear after bear.

    Now it’s hiding behind the three ring binders in fear.

    Thanks, Matt.

Leave a Reply

