A Blessed Journey

This picture was taken just after the members of Lee Village Baptist Church voted to call me as their new pastor. That’s right–the Seeking Pastor is once again an actual pastor of an actual church. By the way, do not adjust your computers; I really am that big.

The church is located in Harriman, TN–just a little west of Knoxville. The music in the services is Christ exalting and the people have a desire to impact their community and the world with the Gospel and good works. It has been a joy getting to know the people there and I look forward to how God is going to work both in us and through us.

I have been overwhelmed in many ways recently–by the awesome reception that we received from the church, by the kind words people have expressed on Facebook and via text messages, and by the response of my co-workers after I turned in my 2-week notice yesterday.

But more than anything I have been overwhelmed by the limitless goodness of our limitless God.

Thank you to all who have prayed for us and with us as we waited on God to reveal His will for our future. I hope that you will continue praying for us as we search for a house in the Harriman area and as we begin ministering with the people of Lee Village Baptist Church.

If you live in or near Roane County we would love to have you worship with us. The service times are Sundays at 11am and 6pm (with Sunday School at 10am) and Wednesdays at 7pm. And if you don’t live anywhere near Roane County–well,we would love to worship with you, too.

To God be the glory!

How had God blessed you recently?

46 thoughts on “A Blessed Journey

  1. Well praise the Lord! Goliath got saved and is now serving God as a pastor. Wow!

    Seriously, this is great news. But the picture also makes it look like there is no space between the choir loft pews and the wall. And maybe it’s just your wife is short, you think?

    • Ha! It’s a little bit both–I’m 6’7” and my wife is 5’1”. As for the pews and the wall–the picture is a little deceiving in that. The walls are angled in some and the pews are different lengths. Sort of like an optical illusion effect in the picture.

  2. What awesome news to hear Matt! I have no clue where Roane County is but God does and i am sure He is going there with you. I look forward to God doing some fantastic things through you. Several thoughts come to mind: your oldest is not too far behind mom. 🙂 Looks sort of like me and Jo (6’5″ and 5’3″). A tie?

  3. I’m SO excited for you, Pastor Matt! 🙂 I’ve definitely been praying for you and I’m thrilled to hear that this door has opened for you. It sounds like you can focus on this now and not have to work a job as well, right? Praise the Lord!

    As far as me, the blessing of my wife has been absolutely overwhelming. And I’ll be sharing my own sort of announcement by the end of the year! God is good!

  4. That is awesome! Lee Village is a great church, and I’m so glad yall are back in Roane County! Maybe Jonathan and I will come visit next time we’re in. 🙂

  5. This is very good news. Hope to see you all more often now. You know anytime you want some kid-free time we would love to have all of them. Love you all. God has blessed so much.

  6. Praise God Matt!
    That’s Awesome!

    I got to lead worship for the first time in over a year and it was sooo great to be able to lead people in the presence of God…

    But I’m just blessed to be His Son…so blessed…

  7. You are big among your people 🙂

    Congratulations on the new position!!!! I know what a blessing it is to be able to do, as a vocation, what gives you great joy. We praise God with you and can’t wait to “hear” how God uses you there 🙂

    • Thanks man! I am the Assistant Registrar at South College–for 8 more business days. Looking forward to devoting myself full-time to my pastoral calling.
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  8. Congratulations Matt. I hope no rock slinging teenagers abide in that church. You do have a little philistine in you. 🙂

    Beautiful family!

    Break a leg (not literally).

  9. We’re so happy that God has placed you and your family right where He can use you. Doors open and close so much of our life, but it’s just God at work to “give you an expected end”. It’s our prayer that you remember the thoughts He has for you in that special verse Jeremiah 29:11.
    Also, we have a coupon for a dozen Krispy Kreme doughnuts we would love to send you if we could have your address 🙂

    Mark & Joy Odom

Leave a Reply

