A Verse I’ve Been Feeling Lately

Besides everything else, I face daily the pressure of
my concern for all the churches.

2 Corinthians 11:28

I am really feeling this verse right now.

In the verses leading up to this one, the Apostle Paul has recounted many of the trials that he has gone through and those he is currently enduring. And there were plenty of them. He had been scourged and beaten repeatedly, stoned, shipwrecked three times, on the move and in danger continually. He had been hungry and thirsty and sleep-deprived.

And then, after all of this, he mentions the daily pressure of concern he has for the churches.

Which churches are weighing heavily upon his heart? The ones he started or the ones he ministered to or the ones that have supported him?

The verse says “all the churches.”

He cared for them all.

My primary church of concern is the one I am privileged to pastor, Lee Village Baptist Church. Recently there have been several church members who have experienced pain and sadness for various reasons. Because I love the people who make up the church I have felt the daily pressure of concern for them.

There are other churches that I have had the privilege of being acquainted with over my lifetime which have experienced similar hardships lately. Because I love them I have felt the daily pressure of concern for them.

There are also other followers of Christ who I know and love deeply who have faced terribly trials over the past few weeks. Because I love them I have felt the daily pressure of concern for them.

So, I’m really feeling 2 Corinthians 11:28 lately.

And I count it a privilege because I know the Savior is with me and with them every step of the way.

What verse have you been feeling?

8 thoughts on “A Verse I’ve Been Feeling Lately

  1. Matt, I have been feeling Psalm 34:8. I’m planning to write an eBook using it as a jumping off point.
    BTW, despite your obvious deficiencies regarding mayonnaise, I think you are probably a pretty good pastor.

  2. It’s not really one verse, but a series of verses that say the same thing: God remembered…

    God remembered Noah after being in the ark a total of 190 days.
    God remembered Rachel after Leah had 6 kids and she had none.
    And on and on.

    This idea of what it really means for God to remember us (retain us in his thoughts even when it seems like he forgot us).

  3. Thanks for sharing you heart.
    This past year God has laid 2 Chron 7:14 on my heart. “If my people, who are called by name Name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways THEN will I hear from heaven, forgive their sins and heal their land.” (emphasis mine)

    I really feel we need some healing in our nation and it must begin in the house of God.

  4. Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord. – 1Cr 15:58 NKJV

    It’s not in vain…it’s not in vain…it’s not in vain…

Leave a Reply

